Chat now!

Skip to main content

Hilton M. Briggs Library Policies

Policies & Procedures

SUBJECT: Archives Reading Room Reservation and Use

NUMBER: 4.1

  1. Purpose

To outline the special considerations and procedures that must be followed when scheduling events in the SDSU Archives and H.M. Briggs Library Special Collections Reading Room and Thomas A. Daschle Congressional Research Study, because it is a functioning archives and research destination.

  1. Policy
  • The SDSU Archives and H.M. Briggs Library Special Collections Reading Room and Thomas A. Daschle Congressional Research Study may be reserved for Library, University, and Community events.
  • An event organizer wishing to reserve the space must do so in accordance with the procedures outlined in the Events with Collaborating Partners Policy (see Related Documents).
  • At least one Archives staff member must be present during the entire event. Archives staff will adjust their working hours to accommodate events held on evenings, weekends, or holidays.
  • Food and drink are permitted in the Reading Room, but not in the Daschle Congressional Study or in the Archives storage area.
  • The event organizer is responsible for setup, cleanup, and ensuring that furniture, supplies, etc. needed for the event are procured and, if necessary, transported to the Archives.
  • To comply with fire code, the room can accommodate up to 50 people.
  1. Procedures
  • The event organizer submits a Request for Event Form (see Related Documents) to the Events and Publicity Committee. The Events and Publicity Committee contacts the Archivist to make arrangements.
  • Archives staff will make special arrangements for researchers when events are held during normal business hours (8 am-5 pm, Monday - Friday) and post appropriate signage notifying patrons that the room will be unavailable during the event.
  • The event organizer makes arrangements with the library liaison who is listed on the Request for Event Form to provide adequate seating and equipment and to set up for the event.
  • The event organizer makes arrangements for catering. A food table may be set up along the windows just inside the Archives. Disposable dishes are required.
  • The event organizer provides staff to clean up after the event and return furniture and equipment to their original locations.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Archivist or designee is responsible for enforcement and ad hoc review of this policy and annual review of procedures. The Chief University Librarian is responsible for all revisions to said policy as well as approving the policy and all future revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty June 1, 2016

Approved by: Chief University Librarian June 2, 2016

Origination date: June 2, 2016

Revision dates:

SUBJECT: Classroom Use

NUMBER: 4.2

  1. Purpose

Sets guidelines for the use and scheduling of library classrooms, including Room 125 (Library Laboratory Classroom) and Room 130 (Library Classroom).

  1. Policy

Library Laboratory Classroom 125: Instructor’s workstation, ceiling-mounted projector, participant computers, seating for approximately 35 participants.

Library Teaching Use: The Library Laboratory Classroom is a hands-on classroom for librarians to teach information literacy skills to SDSU students, faculty, and staff. It may also be used for library staff training, workshops, and demonstrations.

Non-Library Teaching Use: The Library Laboratory Classroom may be reserved for other single-session, hands-on teaching when the room is not needed for the library’s instructional program. Reservations may be made up to four weeks in advance and will be granted on a first-come/first-served basis. Regular, semester-long classes cannot be scheduled in the Library Laboratory Classroom as their home base. Only individual sessions, i.e., specific meetings of a class, may be scheduled in the Library Laboratory Classroom.

Non-Teaching Use: The Library Laboratory Classroom is available for individual or group use as a computer lab when it is not in use for instruction. This room may not be reserved for this type of use.

Other:

  • Faculty/staff members and groups may not stay longer than their allotted time because different groups may schedule the classroom back-to-back.
  • Only authorized library or information technology personnel are permitted to modify, install, or relocate equipment or software in the Library Laboratory Classroom.
  • The room should be restored to its original condition, including clean boards, no paper clutter, and all software applications closed, before leaving.
  • The library is not responsible for hardware, software, or network failures during a class.
  • Contact the librarian on duty if you encounter difficulties with the equipment or software.

Library Classroom 130: Instructor’s workstation, 2 ceiling mounted projectors, smart board, seating for approximately 30-35 participants.

CETL & Library Use: The Library shares the Library Classroom with the Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning (CETL) located in Briggs Library. The Library takes responsibility for scheduling this classroom. It may be used for library instruction, staff training, workshops, meetings, and demonstrations.

Non-CETL / Non-Library Use: The Library Classroom may be reserved for other single-session classes or meetings when the room is not needed by the building occupants. Reservations may be made up to four weeks in advance and will be granted on a first-come/first-served basis. Regular, semester-long classes may not be scheduled in the Library Classroom as their home base. Only individual sessions, i.e., specific meetings of a class, may be scheduled in the Library Classroom.

Other:

  • Faculty/staff members and groups may not stay longer than their allotted time because different groups may schedule the classroom back-to-back.
  • Only authorized library or information technology personnel are permitted to modify, install, or relocate equipment or software in the classroom.
  • The room should be restored to its original condition, including clean boards, no paper clutter, and all software applications closed, before leaving.
  • The library is not responsible for hardware, software, or network failures during a class.

Contact the librarian on duty if you encounter difficulties with the equipment or software.

  1. Procedures

To Reserve Library Laboratory Classroom 125 or Classroom 130 in Briggs Library:

To reserve Library Laboratory Classroom 125 or Library Classroom 130 or to obtain more information about the library’s instruction program, contact a librarian at 605.688.5107 or e-mail your Subject Librarian.

  1. Related Documents

Group Study Room Policy

  1. Responsibility

The Head of Public Services or designee is responsible for implementation, enforcement, and ad hoc review of this policy and semi-annual review of procedures. The Chief University Librarian is responsible for review and approval of this policy and associated revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty September 28, 2000

Approved by: Chief University Librarian May 6, 2015

Origination date: May 6, 2015

Revision dates: May 6, 2015; June 17, 2013; December 11, 2006; September 28, 2000

SUBJECT: Events with Collaborating Partners

NUMBER: 4.3

  1. Purpose

To establish the process of working with collaborating partners on events that promote learning, diversity, and cultural enrichment.

  1. Policy
  • The library encourages collaboration with campus, community, and other academic organizations.
  • The decision to co-host an event is based on three major criteria:
    • Meeting the library’s goal to provide programs that promote learning, diversity, and cultural enrichment.
    • Coordinating a manageable calendar of events.
    • The availability of at least one full-time library employee to serve as a liaison for the event.
  • This policy pertains to events such as author talks, receptions, lectures, and panel discussions to which campus and/or community members are invited. It does not apply to individuals or groups reserving library spaces for study or class use.
  1. Procedures
  • Persons interested in partnering with the library to hold an event should contact either the Library Financial Program Assistant or the Library Operations Manager.
    • Interested parties will fill out a Request for Event form and give it to the Library Financial Program Assistant or the Library Operations Manager who will forward it to the chair of the Events and Publicity Committee.
    • The Committee would like the form at least two months in advance.
  • The library encourages other departments located in the building to notify the Chair of the Events and Publicity Committee, the Chief University Librarian, or the Library Operations Manager if they are hosting events in the building, even if they are not collaborating with library staff. This will help the Events and Publicity Committee coordinate events and avoid conflicts.
  • The Events and Publicity Committee will communicate with the library liaison listed on the Request for Event form.
  • The library liaison is responsible for ensuring the availability of the event location and for communicating with collaborating partners.
  • The library liaison need not be a member of the Events and Publicity Committee, but should keep that Committee informed of the event’s progress.
  • The library’s Events and Publicity Committee monitors a library-wide calendar of events in consideration of coordinating a manageable calendar.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Events and Publicity Committee is responsible for making recommendations whether or not to approve events to the Chief University Librarian. The identified library liaison is responsible for working with collaborating partners to carry out the event and for on-going communication with the Events and Publicity Committee. The Events Committee Chair is responsible for reviewing this policy annually.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty October 8, 2014

Approved by: Chief University Librarian October 8, 2014

Origination date: October 8, 2014

Revision dates: April 13, 2016; September 7, 2016

SUBJECT: Exhibits with Collaborating Partners

NUMBER: 4.4

  1. Purpose

To establish the process of working with collaborating partners on exhibits in the library.

  1. Policy

Outside partners may display exhibits in the library with approval from the Exhibits, Art, and Signage Committee (Exhibits Committee).  The committee maintains a schedule of exhibits.

  1. Procedures

Guidelines for Exhibits:

  • Exhibits will call attention to educational, cultural, and recreational opportunities at South Dakota State University (SDSU). Emphasis will be on scholarship, education, or university activities. Displays will attempt to inform and educate the public, and will not editorialize personal opinions or viewpoints. Exhibits must conform to SDSU standards of appropriate speech.
  • Library exhibits must be scheduled and approved by the Exhibits Committee with final approval by the Chief University Librarian.
  • The Exhibits Committee may invite faculty to display their work or their students’ work, and faculty may request to host a display at the library.
  • Exhibits will be considered for approval according to their content, quality, and appropriateness.
  • Library collections and services displays may be given priority in order to promote library interests.
  • The Exhibits Committee reserves the right to review exhibits and recommend necessary changes.

Scheduling:

  • The Exhibits Committee chairperson will screen and schedule exhibit requests and maintain an exhibits calendar. Contact information for the chairperson may be requested from the Financial Program Assistant by calling 688-5106.

  • The schedule may be altered when necessary to accommodate exhibits of timely interest. No single issue, event, or project will be permitted to use all the exhibits cases at the same time.

Temporary Library Signs:

  • Under normal circumstances, signs should not be taped to the library’s doors, windows, walls, support columns, or shelves unless they have been approved and posted by the library Exhibits Committee or its designee. Such temporary signs are unattractive and impede the visibility of more permanent signs.
  1. Related Documents

Facilities and Services website: Signage and Postings

  1. Responsibility

The Exhibits Committee or designee is responsible for implementation, enforcement, and ad hoc review of this policy and biennial review of procedures.  The Chief University Librarian is responsible for reviewing and approval of this policy and associated revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty April 4, 2018

Approved by: Chief University Librarian May 3, 2018

Origination date: December 4, 1998

Revision dates: June 17, 2013; May 3, 2018

SUBJECT: Graduate Study Room

NUMBER: 4.6

  1. Purpose

To govern the assignment and use of the library’s graduate study rooms.

  1. Policy
  • All graduate students are eligible to apply for graduate study rooms.
  • Study room assignments are made for one semester, renewable for one additional semester at a time, depending on availability.
  • If necessary, assignments will be prioritized as follows, with new applicants given higher priority than those who have previously had an assigned study room:

1. Doctoral candidates in their last year of residency who are actively engaged in research for dissertations or research papers.

2. Master’s candidates in their last year of residency who are actively engaged in research for theses, design papers, or research papers.

3. Other graduate students.

  • The library is not responsible for any personal property left in study rooms.
  1. Procedures
  • Applications may be obtained at and returned to the Library Services Desk and may be obtained by e-mail from circ@sdstate.edu.
  • Wireless connectivity is available in Briggs Library at no cost.
  • The library has provided essential furniture for each study room. Additional library furniture may be included with authorization from Library Administration in Room 108.
  • Names are not to be posted on the doors.
  • Mail and messages will not be delivered to study rooms by library staff.
  • Signs, pictures, posters, etc. are not to be attached to any surface of the study room, including the windows.
  • Non-circulating library materials taken to a study room should be returned to the Library Services Desk before the user leaves the building.
  • Circulating materials must be checked out at the Library Services Desk.
  • Study rooms will be checked at least once per semester by library staff. All non-circulating and circulating materials not checked out will be removed and returned to the proper location. The occupant will be notified when the room has been checked and provided with call numbers of materials that were removed, if any.
  • If a key is not returned within ten business days following the end of the study room assignment, the person who checked it out will be charged according to the provisions the Library Charges Document.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Head of Access Services or designees are responsible for application and ad hoc review of this policy and annual review of procedures.  The Chief University Librarian is responsible for all revisions to said policy as well as approving the policy and all future revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty

Approved by: University Library Committee Date unknown

Chief University Librarian  March 8, 2017

Origination date: 1989

Revision dates: March 8, 2017; June 6, 2007 (by Library Faculty)

SUBJECT: Group Study Rooms Reservation and Use

NUMBER: 4.7

  1. Purpose

To govern the use of the library’s group-study rooms. Large rooms are intended for use by groups of three or more. Small rooms are intended for use by 1-2 individuals.

  1. Policy
  • Selected group study rooms may be reserved for up to 4 hours per day per person.
  • Regular, semester-long, SDSU classes may be scheduled in these rooms Monday through
  • Friday from 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. SDSU organizations may schedule regular recurring meetings in these rooms Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. through 10:00 p.m.
  • Room reservations will be held for 15 minutes.
  • Selected open study rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • Patrons are responsible for any personal property left in these rooms.
  1. Procedures

Open Rooms

Locked Rooms

  • Locked rooms may be reserved online at http://libcal.sdstate.edu/booking/GroupRooms. Each of these rooms has a sign posted on the door directing patrons to check out a key at the Library Services Desk.
  • The room key must be returned to the Library Services Desk by the end of the booking. Keys should never be given to another group or individual.
  • If a key is not returned to the Library Services Desk when due, the person who checked out the key will be charged according to the overdue policy for four-hour reserve materials as stated in the library’s Library Charges.
  • Charges for an overdue key will continue to accrue until the key is returned to the Library Services Desk or until they reach the maximum limit for reserve materials (Library Charges).
  • If a group is more than 15 minutes late, library staff will cancel their reservation and another group may use the room.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Access Services Librarian is responsible for implementation, enforcement, and annual review of the policy and procedures.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty July 2, 2014

Approved by: Chief University Librarian August 12, 2015

Origination date: August 12, 2015

Revision dates: August 12, 2015; March 7, 2018

Loading ...
LibGuides Footer