SUBJECT: Art in the Library
NUMBER: 10.16
Briggs Library collects artwork in support of its mission, vision, and values to promote:
Displaying art in the library creates an inclusive and welcoming environment that enriches the intellectual and creative life of its patrons. It provides an opportunity for patrons to encounter original artwork and improve their visual literacy.
Purpose
To establish a framework for the growth and maintenance of Briggs Library's art collection.
To establish a framework for the growth and maintenance of Briggs Library's art collection.
Briggs Library collects artwork in support of its mission, vision, and values to promote:
Displaying art in the library creates an inclusive and welcoming environment that enriches the intellectual and creative life of its patrons. It provides an opportunity for patrons to encounter original artwork and improve their visual literacy.
General criteria for selecting materials for the library art collection are listed below. An item does not need to meet all of the criteria in order to be acceptable.
The acquisition of works outside these parameters will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
Art may be added to the collection by means of gift, purchase, or other transaction by which the title of the object passes to Briggs library. Upon acceptance of the donation, a deed of gift will be completed, with a copy provided to the donor.
Any library personnel may suggest artwork to consider for acquisition. The Dean of the Library approves all acquisitions to the library's art collection.
Briggs Library reserves the right to deaccession any objects in its art collection at any time for any reason. The method of the disposal of objects will be determined by the Dean of the Library.
Library Instrument of Gift (contact library staff to access this document)
The Exhibits, Arts, and Signage Committee or designee is responsible for application and ad hoc review of this policy and annual review of procedures. The Policy and Procedures Committee is responsible for review of this document every four years. The Dean of the library is responsible for review and approval of this policy and associated revisions.
SOURCE:
Reviewed by: Library Faculty December 7, 2022
Approved by: Dean of the Library December 8, 2022
Originally adopted: December 8, 2022
Revision dates:
