Chat now!

Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hilton M. Briggs Library Policies

Policies & Procedures

SUBJECT: Circulation of Library Materials

NUMBER: 2.1

  1. Purpose

To clarify and communicate who is eligible to borrow circulating materials, which materials circulate, and the procedures to borrow materials from the library.

  1. Policy
  • Most library materials and equipment may be checked out by patrons with a current and unrestricted library account.  Loan periods vary by type of material and patron status, which are detailed in the Library Charges Document.
  • Some library collections may only be used within the library. These collections include hourly Reserves, Reference, Government Documents in locked compact shelving, South Dakota topographical maps, Current Periodicals, Newspapers, Popular Periodicals/Main Level, Microforms (microfilm, microfiche, and microcard), and all collections housed in SDSU Archives and Special Collections. Distance students and faculty may consult with their subject librarian for access options to these materials.
  • The following categories of individuals are eligible to borrow circulating materials: current students and employees of any South Dakota Board of Regents institution, SDSU emeriti faculty, current residents of South Dakota who have valid photo identification and proof of residency, and certain non-SDSU users as described in the Service to Non-SDSU Users Policy.
  • SDSU employees may give proxy permission for use of their university identification card to check out library materials to a student or other staff member by submitting a form by email to circ@sdstate.edu or to the Library Services Desk.
  • Note: The Agricultural Heritage Museum, South Dakota Art Museum, and SDSU Music Department each set the policies and procedures for their own collections of materials.
  1. Procedures

Library materials and equipment are checked out at the Library Services Desk.

  • Patrons bring materials and valid photo identification to the Library Services Desk. Library staff check the materials out to patrons and inform them of the due date(s). Patrons are expected to return or renew materials on or before the due date(s).
  • If patrons request materials shelved behind the Library Services Desk or in a locked case, library staff will retrieve them. These materials will be checked out only if they regularly circulate.
  • Distance students and faculty may request materials be sent to them through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery services.
  • Eligible materials may be renewed online, by phone, by email, or at the Library Services Desk.

Patrons may request a recall online or at the Library Services Desk for items checked out to another patron.

  • After the recall request is entered in Alma, Alma notifies the original borrower by email including any necessary change in due date. Recalled items cannot be renewed.
  • When the original borrower returns the recalled item, it will be placed on hold for the requesting patron.
  • Access Services staff will notify the requesting patron that the item is available for pickup at the Library Services Desk.
  • Items in heavy demand may be placed on Reserve at the discretion of Access Services staff.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Access Services Librarian or designee is responsible for oversight and ad hoc review of this policy and annual review of procedures. The Policy and Procedures Committee is responsible for review of this document every four years. The Chief University Librarian is responsible for approving the policy and all future revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by:              Library Faculty                       April 1, 2020

Approved by:              Chief University Librarian       April 2, 2020

Origination date:        June 2, 2016

Revision dates:            April 2, 2020

SUBJECT: Inventory and Renewals of Faculty and Staff Loans

NUMBER: 2:2

  1. Purpose

To establish guidelines for an annual inventory of items checked out by SDSU faculty and staff, which facilitates record keeping and helps employees keep track of their loans.

  1. Definitions:
  • Regular Circulating Materials: This includes, but is not limited to, items from the Books/Upper Level; Government Documents/Lower Level; Rabbit Reads; Prairie Striders; and Jim Koch Amateur Wrestling collections.
  1. Policy
  • SDSU faculty and staff may borrow regular circulating materials indefinitely unless another patron requests an item be recalled.
  • Due dates for regular circulating materials checked out to faculty and staff are set at October 1 each year.
  • For loans of items that are not regular circulating materials, see the Library Charges Document.
  • Materials loaned to faculty and staff are inventoried once a year.
  1. Procedures
  • An Access Services library associate runs a job in Alma to send a courtesy notice by email two to three weeks before the due date to all patrons with faculty or staff status who have loans.
    • The notice includes an inventory of materials on loan to each patron.
    • Patrons are responsible for ensuring that the library’s inventory matches the materials in their possession and communicating with library staff about discrepancies as soon as possible.
    • Patrons are asked to review the inventory and return materials by October 1 or renew materials in their possession by email, by phone, or in-person.
  • An Access Services library associate runs a second job in Alma to send a courtesy notice by email one week before October 1 to all patrons with faculty or staff status who have loans that have not been renewed.
  • The established procedures in the Library Charges Document for overdue materials are followed once the due date passes.
  • Renewal requests and other email correspondence regarding the inventory are saved in a subfolder of the Circulation email account.
  1. Related Documents
  1. Responsibility

The Access Services Librarian or designee is responsible for application and ad hoc review of this policy and annual review of procedures. The Policy and Procedures Committee is responsible for review of this document every four years. The Chief University Librarian is responsible for all revisions to said policy as well as approving the policy and all future revisions.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by:              Library Faculty                       April 1, 2020

Approved by:              Chief University Librarian       April 2, 2020

Origination date:         January 25, 2000

Revision dates:           April 2, 2020; March 15, 2016

SUBJECT: Reserve Collection Copyright

NUMBER: 2.3

  1. Purpose

To establish guidelines for use of copyrighted materials within the Reserve Collection.

  1. Policy
  • The library may place on Reserve materials copied from copyrighted works at the request of a faculty member in accordance with copyright law (17 U.S.C.).
  • Requests for paper copies on Reserve should meet the following guidelines:
    • The amount of material should be reasonable in relation to the total amount of material assigned for one term of a course taking into account the nature of the course, its subject matter, and level (17 U.S.C. Sec 107 (1) and (3)).
    • The number of copies should be reasonable in light of the number of students enrolled, the difficulty and timing of assignments, and the number of other courses which may assign the same material (17 U.S.C. Sec 107 (1) and (3)).
    • The material should contain a notice of copyright (17 U.S.C. Sec 401).
    • The effect of copying the material should not be detrimental to the market for the work. (17 U.S.C. Sec 107 (4)).
  • The uses of copied materials in the Reserve Collection that require advance permission from the owner of the copyright are:
    • Consumable works: The duplication of works that are consumed in the classroom, such as standardized tests, exercises, and workbooks, normally requires permission from the copyright owner (17 U.S.C. Sec 107 (4)).
    • Anthologies created as basic text material for a course (a.k.a. “course packs”): Collective works or anthologies created by copying a number of copyrighted articles and excerpts used together as the basic text for a course will in most instances require the permission of the copyright owners. Such copying is more likely to be considered as a substitute for the purchase of a book and thus less likely to be deemed fair use (17 U.S.C Sec 107 (4)).
  1. Procedures
  • Faculty members are responsible for following copyright law (17 U.S.C.) for all materials they place on Reserve. The library will maintain records of Reserve requests for copies of copyrighted materials during the time they are on Reserve.
  • Before any copied material is processed for Reserve, the faculty member responsible for the course must provide proof that all materials placed on Reserve for the course comply with the copyright guidelines. Documentation of compliance will be filed with the copied material and reviewed by the library’s copyright specialist on a case-by-case basis. Contact the Access Services Librarian with questions or review the University Copyright Guidelines.
  1. Related Documents

Hutchings, Mary. (1982). “Model Policy Concerning College and University Photocopying For Classroom, Research and Library Reserve Use.” College and Research Libraries News 43 (4), pp. 127-131.

  1. Responsibility

The Head of Public Services or designee is responsible for biennial review of this policy and annual review of procedures.

SOURCE:

Reviewed by: Library Faculty April 5, 2001; March 7, 2018

Approved by: Chief University Librarian April 10, 2018

Origination date: April 10, 2018

Revision dates: April 10, 2018

LibGuides Footer