SUBJECT: Archives Reading Room Reservation and Use
NUMBER: 4.1
- Purpose
To outline the special considerations and procedures that must be followed when scheduling events in the SDSU Archives and Special Collections Reading Room and Thomas A. Daschle Congressional Research Study, because it is a functioning archives and research destination.
- Policy
- The SDSU Archives and Special Collections Reading Room and Thomas A. Daschle Congressional Research Study may be reserved for library, university, and community events.
- An event organizer wishing to reserve the space must do so in accordance with the procedures outlined in the Events with Collaborating Partners Policy (see Related Documents).
- At least one Archives staff member must be present during the entire event. Archives employees will adjust their working hours to accommodate events held outside normal business hours, limited to the library's open hours.
- Food and drink are permitted in the Reading Room, but not in the Daschle Congressional Study or in the Archives storage area.
- The event organizer is responsible for setup, cleanup, and ensuring that furniture, supplies, etc. needed for the event are procured and, if necessary, transported to the Archives.
- The suggested room capacity is 50 people based on the size of the space and the single exit.
- Procedures
- The event organizer submits a Request for Event Form (see Related Documents) to the Events and Publicity Committee or the Archivist. The Events and Publicity Committee works with the Archivist to make arrangements.
- Archives employees will make special arrangements for researchers when events are held during normal business hours (8 am-5 pm, Monday - Friday) and post appropriate signage notifying patrons that the room will be unavailable during the event.
- The event organizer makes arrangements with the library liaison who is listed on the Request for Event Form to provide adequate seating and equipment and to set up for the event.
- If catering is desired, the event organizer is responsible for making those arrangements. A food table may be set up in the Archives. Disposable dishes are required.
- The event organizer provides staff to clean up after the event and return furniture and equipment to their original locations.
- Related Documents
- Responsibility
The Archivist or designee is responsible for implementation and ad hoc review of the policy and procedures. The Policy and Procedures Committee is responsible for review of this document every four years. The Dean of the Library is responsible for all revisions to said policy as well as approving the policy and all future revisions.
SOURCE:
Reviewed by: Library Faculty June 1, 2016
Approved by: Dean of the Library November 13, 2024
Origination date: June 2, 2016
Revision dates: June 2, 2016; December 20, 2020; November 13, 2024
