Chat now!

Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hilton M. Briggs Library Policies

Policy 5:5

Library Charges Document

This document is not available in a form other than this page.

Archives and Special Collections - Reproduction Charges

These proposed Archives and Special Collections fees bring us in line with similar institutions and continue to give SDSU affiliated researchers a price break. The pricing also considers the shift from photocopying and mailing hard copies to researchers to creating digital pdfs and e-mailing digital copies.

Note: Additional fees may be assessed for any service at the discretion of the Archivist.

Archives: SDSU Affiliate (faculty, staff, student or department)

Digital reproduction of images (high resolution TIFF or other image file):

  • 1-5 images: Subsidized by the library
  • 6+ images: $2.00 per image over 5 images

Digital reproduction of text (low resolution PDF file):

  • 1-21 pages: Subsidized by the library
  • 22+ pages: $0.05 per page over 20 pages

Processing

  • Subsidized by the library

Use charges (applies only to items for which the library holds copyright):

  • Subsidized by the library

Archives: Non-Profit and Scholarly Uses (Non-SDSU Affiliate)

Digital reproduction of images (high resolution TIFF or other image file):

  • $4.00 per image

Digital reproduction of text (low resolution PDF file):

  • $0.10 per page

Processing

  • $10.00 per preproduction request

Use Charges (applies only to items for which the library holds copyright):

  • For reference and unpublished research (i.e. family histories, dissertations, and educational uses): Subsidized by the library
  • For editorial use (i.e. within books, journals and other published works): $10.00 per image
  • For advertising and other promotional uses (i.e. web sites, posters, brochures, exhibits/displays): $15.00

Archives: Commercial Use

Digital reproduction of images (high resolution TIFF or other image files):

  • $10.00 per image

Digital reproduction of text (low resolution PDF file):

  • $0.10 per page

Processing

  • $50.00 per reproduction request

Use charges (applies only to items for which the library holds copyright):

  • For editorial use (i.e. within books, journals and other published works): $50.00 per image
  • For advertising and other promotional uses (i.e. web sites, posters, brochures, exhibits/displays, merchandise): $75.00 per image

Archives: Other Services

Photocopies (8 1/2 x 11):

  • $0.15 per page (self-service)
  • $0.10 per page (performed by Archives staff)

Black and white printing:

  • $0.10 per page (performed by Archives staff)

Color printing:

  • $0.25 per page (performed by Archives staff)

Physical media (CD/DVD):

  • $2.00 for each disc used to save/send digital reproductions

Shipping and Handling charges:

  • $2.00 (minimum), large orders may require additional fees

Facsimile (Fax) service:

  • $0.50 per page

Rush service:

  • $15.00 per order

Staff Research time:

  • $25.00 per hour, minimum charges is 1/2 hour. Used for in-depth research requests

Binding

The task force recommends that no charges be made to the current binding charges. We recommend reviewing these charges annually before the end of the fiscal year. If paper process rise significantly, charges may need to be adjusted prior to the annual review.

Thesis - 2 library copies:

  • Theses and dissertations - printing and binding: $45.00

Personal and department copies, regular paper:

  • Theses, dissertations, DNP's and design papers; printing and binding: $20.00 per copy

Personal and department copies, rag paper:

  • Theses, dissertations, DNP's and design papers; printing and binding: $25.00 per copy

DNP's - 1 library copy

  • Printed on rag paper: $25.00

Design paper - binding alone:

  • $10.00 per copy

Shipping:

  • United States only: $4.00 per copy

Circulation and Interlibrary Loan: Overdue fines

Current charges for circulation and interlibrary loan as recommended by the task force. 

Books/Upper Level, Recent Fiction, New Books, Government Documents:

  • Undergrad:
    • Loan period: 1 month
    • Overdue fine: $10 per item after 30 days overdue
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • Grad:
    • Loan period: End of Semester
    • Overdue fine: $10 per item after 30 days overdue 
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • Employee:
    • Loan period: October 1
    • Overdue fine: $10 per item after 30 days overdue
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cos
  • Guest:
    • Loan period: 4 weeks
    • Overdue fine: $10 per item after 30 days overdue
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • ILL Lending (to other libraries):
    • Loan period: 40 days
    • Overdue fine: We do not charge overdue fines through ILL Lending
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Blu-Ray Players

  • Loan period: 3-days
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $30 if returned
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Bound Periodicals:

  • Loan period: 1 week
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Calculators:

  • Loan period: 1-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Computer Locks:

  • Loan period: 1-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Digital Camera:

  • Loan period: 3-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $5.00 per day; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

DVDs:

  • Undergrad:
    • Loan period: 2 weeks
    • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • Grad:
    • Loan period: 2 weeks
    • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • Employee:
    • Loan period: End of semester
    • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • ILL Lending:
    • Loan period: 40 days
    • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost
  • Guest:
    • Loan period: 3 days
    • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
    • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

E-Readers:

  • Loan period: 1 month
  • Overdue fine: $10 per item after 30 days overdue
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Government Documents:

  • Same as Books

Headphones:

  • Loan period: 1-day Reserves
  • Overdue fine: 1.00 per day; maximum $10 if returned
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Interlibrary Loan (late return):

  • Loan period: Set by lender
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day after 7 days overdue
  • Maximum fine: $20.00 plus any overdue fines charged by the lending library

Interlibrary Loan (lost):

  • Fine: Replacement cost from lender plus $10.00

Keys, Group Study Rooms:

  • Loan period: 4-hour Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per hour; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus cost to rekey the lock and 2 new keys (currently $42.50 = $22.50 to rekey the lock + 2 keys @$5.00 per key + $10 processing)

Keys, Individual Study Rooms:

  • Loan period: 1 semester
  • Overdue fine: No late fee
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus cost to rekey the lock and 2 new keys (as of December 2018 $42.50)

Laptop with Power Cord:

  • Loan period: 3 days
  • Overdue fine: 10.00 per day; maximum fine: $100.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Locker Keys:

  • Loan period: End of semester
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum fine: $10.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Microphones:

  • Loan period: 1-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day; maximum fine: $10.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Mini-Scanner:

  • Loan period: 3-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $5:00 per day; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Portable Projector:

  • Loan period: 3-day Reserve
  • Overdue fine: $5.00 per day; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Reserves (hourly):

  • Loan period: 2-hour or 4-hour
  • Overdue fines: $1.00 per hour; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Reserves (daily, weekly):

  • Loan periods: 1-day, 3-day, 1-week, 2-week
  • Overdue fines: $1.00 per day; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Tablet with Power Cord:

  • Loan period: 3-days
  • Overdue fines: $10.00 per day; maximum fine: $60.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Tech/Media Packs:

  • Loan period: 4-hour Reserve
  • Overdue fines: $1.00 per day; maximum fine: $30.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Whiteboard Markers/Erasers:

  • Loan period: 4-hour Reserve
  • Overdue fines: $1.00 per hour; maximum fine: $10.00
  • Replacement cost: $10.00 plus replacement cost

Photocopies:

  • $0.05 per page

Printing - Black & White:

  • $0.05 per page

Printing - Color:

  • $0.15 per page

Notes:

  • Damaged materials and equipment are charged on a case-by-case basis.
  • Replacement cost plus $10.00 for processing is billed to the patron 30-60 days after the due date.
  • Bill from ILL lender is charged back to the patron

Interlibrary Loan

Cost of delivery if no free supplier is available; charge varies by supplier:

  • >$10.00

Copyright fees for multiple articles from a single journal/magazine issue; cost varies by publisher:

  • >$10.00
LibGuides Footer; South Dakota State University; Brookings, SD 57007; 1-800-952-3541