SUBJECT: Government Documents Collection Policy
NUMBER: 6.3
- Purpose
To guide the selection and maintenance of the federal and state government documents in support of the mission and priorities of the library and the university.
- Policy
Federal Documents: Hilton M. Briggs Library is a selective depository in the Federal Depository Library Program. The documents department selects resources in multiple formats, tangible and electronic, which support current and anticipated needs of the instructional, research, and extension programs of South Dakota State University as well as the needs of the citizens of South Dakota.
State Documents: By contract with the South Dakota State Library, Briggs Library is a complete repository for state documents.
International, Foreign, and Local Documents: Briggs Library is not a depository for international, foreign, or local documents. International, foreign, or local government publications may be acquired through the library’s general collection policy to support university curricular and research needs.
Formats:
- Paper, Federal: The library collects documents in paper when that is their primary or only format and the documents are relevant to SDSU instructional or research needs. The library does not keep multiple editions of a document unless the document is specifically about South Dakota or there is heavy use.
- Paper, State: Most physical state documents that are received are cataloged and go to the main book collection; however, several periodicals are kept in the journals collection. Single sheets, pamphlets, and other grey literature are kept in a vertical file.
- Microfiche: The library collects only the Congressional Record and its index in microfiche. The microfiche collection may be replaced by online collections as they become available but individual documents will not be systematically weeded.
- Maps: The library collects maps from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and from the Department of Defense. Other agencies may also occasionally issue maps. Maps are collected in the map cases as well as in the paper collection depending on their style and publication characteristics.
- Single maps will be kept in the map cases.
- Maps that are part of a package (for example, the soil survey maps or USGS Scientific Investigation Reports) or are from the National Park Service are kept in the main shelves of the government documents collection.
- Maps received from the state of South Dakota are typically kept in the map cases.
- Electronic (CDs, DVDs, Videos): Electronic media are kept in the main shelves of the government documents collection whenever possible. They may be added to the AV cabinet if they are vulnerable to loss or damage.
- Online: Briggs Library extensively collects federal and state documents in online formats. These documents are cataloged in our main catalog with a permanent URL.
- Procedures
- Documents are received, checked in, and processed according to the Government Documents Manual of Operations.
- Related Documents
Hilton M. Briggs Library Collection Development Statement (contact library staff to access this document)
Government Documents Manual of Operations (contact library staff to access this document)
- Responsibility
The Government Documents Librarian is responsible for annual and ad hoc review of this statement and related procedures. The Policy and Procedures Committee is responsible for review of this document every four years. The Dean of the Library is responsible for approving the policy and all future revisions.
SOURCE:
Reviewed by: Library Faculty April 6, 2022
Approved by: Dean of the Library May 20, 2022
Originally adopted: February 4, 2009
Revision dates: May 20, 2022
