Chat now!

Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote20

PDF files

  • Save your PDF files to one file on your computer.
  • Make sure your computer is connected to the internet.
  • In EndNote, click on the File menu and choose Import.
  • Navigate to your PDF folder.
  • Click on Options in the lower left corner of the import window.
  • Import Options should be "PDF File or Folder."
  • Duplicates can be set to your preference
    • Import All ignores any duplicates and imports all the records in your folder.
    • Discard Duplicates does not import any files that already exist in your library.
    • Import into Duplicates Library imports any duplicates into a separate library.
  • Text Translation lets you set how non-Arabic characters are imported.
  • Click on Import.
    • Articles with no DOI listed in the article:
      • No information on the article will be imported - the Title will be listed as the title of the PDF file itself.
      • Edit the record by copying and pasting from the PDF or by typing the relevant information.
    • Articles with a DOI listed in the article:
      • Citation information should be imported from the internet.

Databases

Start with your EndNote library open

  • Open the record or group of records you would like to import.
  • Click on an Export or Download or EndNote link. See box below for help finding this link in specific databases.
  • If given a choice of file format, use the EndNote or RIS format and download or save the file.
  • Find the downloaded/saved file and double click it.

Firefox browser

  • Open the record or group of records you would like to import.
  • Click on an Export or Download or EndNote link. See box below for help finding this link in specific databases.
  • If given a choice of file format, use the EndNote or RIS format and download or save the file.
  • Firefox will popup a box asking what you want to do with the file.
    • You can choose to save the file on your computer - Find the downloaded/saved file and double click it to bring it into EndNote.
    • You can choose to open the file with - Find the EndNote 20 program and open the file directly in EndNote.

Manually Enter Records

  • With EndNote and your library open, click the white page with the green circle icon.
  • Choose the type of document you have. This is important because citations are formatted differently depending on the type of document. EndNote gives you lots of choices but if you need something special, you can create your own format as well.
  • Enter the information that you have about your document.
  • Close the record by clicking on the grey box with an X at the top right of the record (don't close the program by clicking the red box with an X).
  • Save the record.
  • You can see the record in your references list.

Find Full Text

Find Full Text - Let EndNote find PDF files and attach them to your records

  • In EndNote, make sure you have set the Find Full Text preferences (see the preferences tab in this guide).
  • Highlight the records you want EndNote to look for.
  • Click on the References menu, mouse over Find Full Text and click on Find Full Text....
  • EndNote will try to find full text in our databases, download the PDF files and attach them to the records.
  • Note that this procedure does not find all the full text articles we have access to.
    • It might also find some URLs for articles which do not necessarily lead to the full text.

Manually Attach a PDF or other file

Attach a PDF or other file saved on your computer

  • In EndNote, click on the record you want to add an attachment to.
  • Click on the References menu, mouse of File Attachments and click on Attach File (or right click on the record, mouse over File Attachments and click on Attach File).
  • Find the PDF or other document on your computer and click Open.
  • Click on another record to prompt EndNote to save your changes.
  • Note that you can attach any type of file to a record in EndNote.

Individual Databases

Quick Search/Primo

  • Under "Send to", look for EndNote Desk EndNote Desk icon in Quick Search or Primo

Ebsco Databases

  • In the options in the righthand panel, look for Export Export option in Ebsco Databases

ProQuest Databases

  • In the Options above the search results, choose the cite button ProQuest Cite button
  • Then choose the EndNote, Citavi, etc. button ProQuest EndNote button

Web of Science

  • Look for the Export button above the search results Web of Science Export button
  • Choose EndNote Desktop from the options Web of Science EndNote desktop option​​​​​​​

JSTOR

  • Look for the Export Selected Citations button above the search results for multiple citations JSTOR export selected citations button
  • Look for the Cite button to the right of an individual citation JSTOR cite button
  • Choose the Export a RIS file option

PubMed

  • Look for the "Send to" button above the search results PubMed Send to button
  • Choose Citation Manager
  • Click "Create file" and choose where to save the file (.nbib file)

Nexis Uni

  • Look for the Export Citations button Nexis Uni export button
  • Choose an RIS file for 3rd party citation tool.

 

LibGuides Footer; South Dakota State University; Brookings, SD 57007; 1-800-952-3541