Chat now!

Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote20

Display Fields

You can determine what you want to see on the main EndNote Library screen. Any field that EndNote includes can be shown including user-defined fields.

You can choose up to 10 fields to display per line.

Note that the more fields you choose, the more scrolling right and left you will need to do.

In some cases, you can choose what the column heading will say.

You can choose whether EndNote will display all author names or just the first author listed.

Possible fields include: Read/Unread Status; Author; Year; Title; Journal/Secondary Title; Date; Rating; Record Number; Reference Type; Secondary Author; Place Published; Publisher; Volume; Number of Volumes; Number; Pates; Section; Tertiary Author; Tertiary Title; Edition; Type of Work; Subsidiary Author; Short Title; Alternate Journal/Title; ISBN/ISSN; Original Publication; Reprint Edition; Reviewed Item; 8 Custom fields (these can be defined as you choose and can hold any type of information); Accession Number; Call Number; Label; Keywords; Abstract; Notes; URL; Author Address; Caption; Figure; DOI; File Attachments; Translated Author; Translated Title; Name of Database; Database Provider; Research Notes; Language; Access Date; Added to Library; Last Updated

Display Fonts

There are five font sizes available in EndNote. This only effects how text is seen in EndNote itself - it does not change the font or size of text in documents when a citation is inserted.

Duplicates

EndNote can prevent adding duplicate records to your library if you want it to.

You can define what fields EndNote compares to identify duplicates.

By default, EndNote compares Author, Year, Title, and Short Title

Other fields include Secondary Title (Journal); Volume; Issue; Pages; Section; DOI; Custom 2 (this is a user defined field); Publisher; Place Published; Tertiary Title; Subsidiary Author; Reference Type; Label

You can have EndNote look for exact matches or ignore spacing and punctuation.

EndNote can automatically discard duplicates.

Note - Different databases index authors differently so matching authors may result in some duplicates not being identified. Be aware of whether a database is using full author names or just initials.

Note - Different databases index journal titles differently. This is not one of the default fields because some databases use abbreviations which may differ for the same title between databases and some databases use the journal title in full. This can result in many unidentified duplicates.

Formatting

  • Some word processing programs use a "Format Document" command to format citations. Microsoft Word uses a much more flexible system called "Cite While You Write" (CWYW). The "Suggest formatting with EndNote's Cite While You Write if the document type is supported" tells EndNote to provide a notice to a use that is not using CWYW but could be.
  • "Omit Author and/or Year from formatted citation if removed from temporary citation" is used in word processors that are not using the CWYW function. This allows you to insert citations with special formatting in various situations and when the document is formatted later, the citation formatting will remain.
  • "Merge duplicates in bibliography" is used in alphabetized bibliographies when the same article/book is cited twice in the paper. The citation appears appropriately in the text of the paper but the blibiography only includes one entry for the work.

Libraries

  • While it is generally recommended that all a user's citations be kept in one library, there are times a separate EndNote library may be called for. For instance, keeping all research citations in one library and a document of your home library book and article collection would be a good use of multiple libraries. 
  • This preference tells EndNote what library to open by default. EndNote comes with instructions to open the last library used when the program is opened. This can be changed to open a specified library, prompt to select a library every time the program opens, or not to open a library at all (do nothing).
  • You can also have EndNote show the library name in your reference window - useful in quickly determining which library is open if you have multiple libraries.
  • For MAC users, you can turn on Spotlight Support. Don't know about Spotlight? Join the club! Spotlight is activated by CMD + Spacebar and will search for anything on your MAC. It is amazingly useful, especially if you want to keep your fingers on your keyboard and move to another program!

PDF Handling

  • Automatically rename PDF files when they are imported into EndNote.
    • Base the PDF file name on the content of the fields in the EndNote record.
  • Set a folder up for EndNote to automatically import PDF files from.
    • When you put a PDF file into the specified folder, EndNote will automatically import it.
      • If the PDF does not have a DOI within the first few pages, you will need to manually enter the citation information. See <INSERT LINK HERE> for more information on this.

 

Read/Unread

When to automatically mark as read

  • When the reference, PDF, or Preview is viewed in the library window;
  • When the rating is changed;

Whether unread articles are shown in bold or not

Reference Types

Determine what type of record is your default type

  • EndNote's default type is a Journal Article
  • You can choose any type of document you use most often

Modify reference types

  • You can modify the fields that are offered for a reference type.
  • Add fields that are not usually requested.
  • Add custom fields for your own uses.

Export or import reference type changes from another computer

  • If you modify a reference type and use multiple computers, you can export your changes to use on other computers.

Sorting

Ignoring words in sorting

  • Author fields
    • May want to ignore parts of names like "de"
  • Title fields
    • Common words (a, an, the) are already listed
    • Articles in other languages can be added

Spell Check

Customize spell check

  • Ignore capitalized words
  • Ignore all-caps words
  • Ignore words with numbers
  • Ignore words with mixed case
  • Ignore domain names
  • Report doubled words
  • Case sensitive
  • Phonetic suggestions
  • Typographical suggestions
  • Suggest split words
  • Auto correct
  • Choose a dictionary/language
  • Choose accuracy vs. speed
    • Fast but less accurate
    • Moderately fast and accurate
    • Slow but accurate

Add dictionaries

  • Add words to the existing dictionary
  • Tell it to ignore a word
  • Add new dictionary files

Sync

Sync with EndNote Web

  • Set up a free EndNote Web account
  • Sync your desktop library with your web library

Set up an account

  • Click on Enable Sync button.
  • Follow the instructions.
  • Once you have an account, enter the e-mail address and password for it.

Set up your syncing

  • Choose which of the libraries you want to sync.
  • Choose when to sync them.

Temporary Citations

Temporary citations are used in programs other than Microsoft Word. The program will insert a temporary citation until you choose to format your document when the temporary citations will be formatted and inserted.

  • Choose how temporary citations are indicated.
  • Choose how the EndNote record number is indicated.
  • Choose how to at text before the actual citation.
  • Choose how to indicate a note is included.

Term Lists

Term List Activities

  • Allow EndNote to suggest terms as you type.
  • .Indicate when will the lists be updated.
    • When importing or pasting references.
    • When entering data.

URLs & Links

Log file

  • Keeps records downloaded after searching a database from within EndNote.
  • Can download records again from this file.
  • ISI Base URL should not be changed.
  • OpenURL Arguments - use the default.
    • Used to find full text.

Attached Files

  • Choose to copy the attachments
    • Allows the pdf and other attachments to be copied with your library.
      • They can be deleted from the original location as a copy will be made.
    • All your attachments will be located in your My EndNote Library.data folder.
  • Choose to link to the attachments (other than PDF files found using "Find Full Text") in other locations on your computer by not clicking the bottom box.
    • Moving your library results in a loss of the attachment.
    • PDF files attached using the Find Full Text feature always go in the default folder regardless of this setting.
LibGuides Footer; South Dakota State University; Brookings, SD 57007; 1-800-952-3541