Library Services Desk: Ebooks / Streaming Video

USER / ACCESS MODELS

Ownership - Purchased and owned in perpetuity.

• One User (1B1U): Provide patrons access to titles, one user at a time.

• Three Users (1B3U): Provides access to three patrons simultaneously.

• Unlimited Users (1BUU): Unlimited simultaneous users per title. With this type of access, users will never experience turn-aways or holds for titles in high demand.

• Unlimited Users (1BUU DRM-free): Unlimited access to users with no DRM (Digital Rights Management) restrictions on printing, saving, copying, etc. Full-book downloads require no sign-in to My EBSCOhost and no special software. The only requirement is that the user authenticates to SDSU's collection. 

Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA)
In EBSCOhost Collection Manager (ECM), the concept of DDA is implemented with the use of DDA lists which are sets of titles that are available to library users via EBSCOhost. A title on a selected DDA list is triggered for automatic purchase only AFTER a user accesses and uses the full text for in one of the ways listed under the next section, for the Concurrent Access Model.

Concurrent Access Model 
The Concurrent Access Model (CAM) provides a perpetual license to e-books available on an unlimited concurrent access basis up to an annual maximum of uses (typically 365 uses).
For example, if a CAM eBook has 365 uses available, and six users attempt to access the eBook at the same time, all six users will be able to view the eBook but only 359 uses will remain on the eBook.

Once that number is met, the eBook becomes unavailable. On the anniversary of the purchase date, the number of uses is reset to the original maximum. 

What triggers "usage" of a CAM eBook is the same as the triggers for Demand-Driven Acquisition eBooks:

• Browsing the eBook for more than 10 minutes

• Turning more than 10 pages in the eBook

• Downloading any portion of the eBook

• Emailing any portion of the eBook

• Printing any portion of the eBook

• Checking out an eBook (Note: Each day an eBook is checked out counts as one CAM use.)

Short Term Loan

Short term loans allow users temporary access at a small cost. Short Term Loans are available via DDA collections. Loans are available in 1,7, 14, 28 day increments.

EBSCO ECM Screenshots : Open Images in new tab to enlarge view

Smart Patron Driven Acquisition (PDA) Program 

• Default Content Cost: $75 - $100 (One Year License.)
• Definition: Smart PDA profiles, curates, and recommends participating libraries a custom catalog based on campus usage trends and curricula.
• Content Trigger: Any Title with four or more PDA plays during a 12-month period triggers a one-year license. 
• Titles not included in the PDA Collection can be requested.

Our cost for participating (licenses) in Kanopy is $18,500 a year.  

Update - 2025-09-12 MB

PS 285/HO 285 - Agricultural Computations

Instructor: Jiyul Chang

Students in the course are using an ebook purchased by the library as their textbook: Practical Mathematics for Precision Farming. If they have problems accessing the text, they should try the following:

1. Browser: We have found that Firefox works better for access to the book than Chrome.
2. Wiley Online Library account: While on campus, register and log in with Wiley Online Library. Your Wiley profile should automatically affiliate with South Dakota State, and you will be able to access SDSU’s licensed content when you log in to Wiley Online Library from other locations. This access will work for 60 days and renew for another 60-day period each time you log in to your Wiley account while connected to SDSU’s campus network.

NM - 1/20/2021

For more details click here.

• 1-User Perpetual License (1U) - Only one (1) user can access the document at a time. 
• 3-User Perpetual License (3U)  - Up to three (3) users can access the document at a time.
• Non-Linear Access (NL) Under this model, multiple users can access the ebook at the same time. The number of days used for each loan instance is subtracted from the total number of annual loan days set for the title - usually 325.
• Unlimited Access (UA) - An unlimited number of users can access the ebook at the same time. All titles in subscription collections (for example, Academic Complete) are UA titles.
• STL - Short-Term Loan

The library sets the loan date on ebooks in this category at 1, 7, 14 or 28 days and pays just a fraction of the book's purchase price for each loan. 

• Perpetual Access Purchases

The library retains access to purchased titles as long as we maintain access to the Ebook Central platform, even if a publisher removes a title from Ebook Central. Perpetual access titles can be purchased as single-user-only (1USER), three-user (3USER), non-linear (NL), or unlimited access (UA). Please note that not all titles are available in every access model.

Rev 9/11/2025 mk

In July 2025, Ebook Central upgraded its reader app, replacing Adobe Digital Editions for full downloads of books on Ebook Central. First-time users are prompted to download the app when they download a full book for the first time. Chapter downloads and online reading do not require the reader.

What Users Need to Know:

• Install the App: Users can install the app on up to six personal or institutional devices.
• Start Reading: After installation, users may enter their 7-digit login code and begin reading offline right away.

Need Additional Help? 
ProQuest also created these resources for users: 

• Ebook Central User LibGuide
• Live & On-demand webinars for users
• Library marketing resources for users

9/11/2025 mk