The links used to directly access Kanopy videos are not formatted correctly and don't contain the library's Proxy string. Any links that have been accessed through D2L or email will not work. A solution is being investigated, but for right now students will need to access Kanopy from the library homepage and then search for the title of the video they're looking for.
KE 10/17/23
When a patron has erroneously logged into any public computer in the library, correct this by logging in using the following information.
Any public computer: .\library and no password
Circ desk computers log in
Computer Name: ./circ
Password: LisaLuck@t35duckx
Circ Desk Logins Updated 1-28-24 LK
Some things to check if a student can't log in:
Do they have current SDSU credentials? Are they currently a student or staff member? Login uses SDSU email and password.
Are they able to log into other SDSU resources such as MyState and their email?
Are they at a school? Sometimes schools will block our resources with their firewall.
What error message are they getting? If the message is “docs/suspend.”, they have been temporarily blocked because of downloading too much. If they wait 15 minutes, they should be able to get in.
Are they coming through the library database links? Are they seeing our login screen? Sometimes they will be coming in from a different place and are trying to log into the resource’s login page, not the library’s login page. This happens most often following the instructor’s links from D2L.
If they are trying to log into Primo but can’t, check to make sure they are a current user in Alma.
A few other things to try: try a different browser, clear cache.
If all of these things fail to get them in, they probably need temporary credentials (in the password document). If the temporary credentials do not work, then the problem is something more local such as their actual computer or the link they are using.
Most new students in pharmacy and nursing programs won’t be able to log into Wegner resources until IT resolves the problem described here: From what we can tell, these students appear to be classified incorrectly within the SDSU active directory. We have contacted SDSU I.T. for assistance with the matter. Until they are able to resolve this issue, we have created a temporary login for students. (This should not be affecting faculty or preceptors).
In the meantime, we can give them this temporary password so that they’ll have access. Key people in nursing and pharmacy have been notified, so we shouldn’t get a lot of questions about this.
To access Wegner Library resources if your login is not working:
User name: test.case@wegnerlibrary.org
Password: 1Sunnyday!
8/29/22-SB
Generic login for the circulation desk computers:
Computer name: circ_counter1/circ
Username: circ / Password: explore79TAg
Note: If password is incorrect, check the CIRC Procedures manual for an updated one.
Updated by NM, 10/30/23
ALMA Login -- use full jacks or sdstate email address + email password
LibApps Login -- student@library.sdstate.edu + Student1 (For room reservations go to LibCal then Room Bookings)
LibStaffer Login -- student@library.sdstate.edu + Student1
Passwords List -- requires InsideState username and password
Staff laptop login issue: If you get an error message that states your are not connected to your domain, try logging with jacks\firstname.lastname + password. For example: jacks\jane.doe + password
If you haven’t logged into that laptop recently, you might have to use an Ethernet connection to login first, then switch to wi-fi.
Wegner Health Sciences Library (USD) - firstname.lastname@wegnerlibrary.org + your chosen password. Contact Nancy Marshall with questions or problems with your password.
There is a department card that works with PaperCut and our self-serve photocopy machine.
The login is -
Username: circulation
Password: circ5107
Reviewed Jan. 2021 - MK
SDSU students and faculty from the College of Nursing and the College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions have access to databases, ebooks and online journals provided by Wegner. https://www.usd.edu/library/wegner Most librarians at Briggs can also access these resources using a login created for this purpose. Ask Nancy Marshall for help if you've forgotten your Wegner credentials.
TROUBLESHOOTING -- If someone suspects that their username and password are not working, they should try accessing either the database AccessMedicine or DynaMed through Wegner. If the searcher can access either of these databases, then the password is good and there is something else going on. Best option is to wait awhile then try the link again. If the problem persists, report it to Briggs or Wegner librarians. Wegner has 20 concurrent seats for CINAHL. The 21st user will not have access until someone else closes their CINAHL browser.
| Wegner Library Access | Username | Password |
|---|---|---|
| For STUDENTS in SDSU College of Nursing and College of Pharmacy | Jacks email address | Jacks email password |
| For FACULTY in SDSU College of Nursing and College of Pharmacy | Firstname.Lastname | SDSU network password |
| For PRECEPTORS and Briggs Library staff |
Firstname.Lastname @wegnerlibrary.org |
Sell-selected password |
Reviewed 8/24/2021 mk
Internal Alma login (for when institutional authentication is not working)
If campus authentication is down, and login to Alma is required for circulation, we have a general login that can be used while bypassing campus authentication. This login only has basic circulation permissions.
If authentication is down, do not use the regular Alma bookmark to get to Alma as that will go straight to campus login. Instead this URL is needed:
Sdstate.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/mng/login
It is most likely necessary to clear the recent internet history before using this or it will default to the regular URL.
On this screen, you will enter the login info
User name: 6885107
Password: Briggs@SDSU
This should get you into Alma with basic circulation privileges. We only want to use this when authentication is down, which will hopefully be very rare.
Students enrolled in online courses:
SDSU Home Students (applied/accepted through SDSU) – all receive an SDSU student account and communication regarding accounts and setup is communicated following student acceptance from admissions.
Non-SDSU Students (applied/accepted through another SD BOR institution) that are registered in an SDSU course – SDSU accounts are created for these students; however, information is not communicated out to students regarding access/setup. At this time students need to contact support to determine and establish their account. Even if a student activates their SDSU account, their home institution accounts remain their primary. Coming soon – account pick up tool to better serve this population.
Both groups noted above will include High School Dual Credit (HSDC) students – those who applied/accepted through us and those who applied/accepted through another SD BOR system.
GPIDEA students who will be completing their credential through SDSU will be in the SDSU Home Student category.
GPIDEA visiting students (degree seeking at a partner university – not within the SD BOR system) do not have a presence in SDSU systems (and do not have SDSU student accounts), with the exception of D2L and we create those accounts manually.
To assist online/distance students:
Refer students who haven't accessed their SDSU email account to the SDSU Support Desk (605-688-6776, sdsu.supportdesk@sdstate.edu)
Provide the temporary login credentials
Necessary for GPIDEA visiting students
Helpful for HSDC students if the SDSU Support Desk isn't open
LibChat shows the I.P. address for the person you are helping. It can be helpful to know where the person is located.
Students enrolled in speech (Foundations of Communication, CMST 101) and English (Composition I, ENGL 101) have received emails with links to the library website and specific resources from one of our Public Services librarians. Students can contact their "assigned" librarian for more in-depth assistance, including appointments via Zoom.
You can refer any questions to Public Services librarians, as well. We are happy to provide more extensive help and/or follow up with students to make sure they are able to access what they need.
NM 2/28/2024
As of August 14, 2023, we will be using the university’s single sign-on for library resources. On campus use will still not require a login; this will only be a change for off-campus users.
For anyone with SDSU email, they should be able to just click the database they would like to access like usual. This login page will come up:
To log in here, they will enter their SDSU email address and password. IT has informed us that dual credit students and students taking only one class are all given email addresses, so this should work for them as well. Update (2/22/2024): Dual credit students whose "home institution" is not SDSU are likely not to have an SDSU email accounts. They will need the temporary access credentials. See other information on this page for details.
If they are reaching the old login page when they should be seeing this page, it is most likely a caching issue. They can try a different browser or clearing their cache. If that still doesn't work, they can go directly to this URL and sign in:
https://excelsior.sdstate.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=
The passwords will still be on the password document, which will be in the K drive, on InsideState, and printed in the file behind the circ desk.
Once signed in, they can go to the resource.
For users who don’t have credentials and need temporary access (GPIdea students, visiting scholars, etc.) we will need to give them this link:
https://excelsior.sdstate.edu/login?url=
This will take them to the login page that we have been using:
When they get to this screen, they can enter the temporary credentials and they will then be given access. Once they are in, this will go directly to the A-Z databases list so they can get to the resources. FirstName.LastName credentials will NO LONGER work with this screen, only the special credentials that we give out.
Pharmacy Library is a little different, because only Pharmacy students can use it. They are given credentials specific to Pharmacy Library, which will only work with Pharmacy Library.
They can use this as a direct URL to Pharmacy Library:
https://excelsior.sdstate.edu/login?url=http://www.pharmacylibrary.com/
That will go directly to the login page where they will enter the special credentials. This URL will only work for Pharmacy Library, and after logging in with that they will still have to log in again if they go to another database.
They can also log in just by going to Pharmacy Library on the databases list; if they do this they will have to log in twice to get in, but then they will also be logged in to all the other resources. The first login will be just like the SDSU login everyone gets, and the second login will look like this:
This would be where they would enter the special pharmacy credentials.
The passwords will still be on the password document, which will be in the K drive, on InsideState, and printed in the file behind the circ desk
MyDuo Portal - https://myduo.sdstate.edu/
This site will generate three bypass codes that can be used to temporarily bypass the Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA). The three bypass codes are one-time-use and valid for a week if not used right away.
Note that students log into the portal with their jacks email address. Employees use firstname.lastname
rev 2/23/2022
Students, staff, and faculty may reset their own passwords at https://loginhelp.sdstate.edu/
Reviewed Aug 2022 ~ MK
PRIMO -- students use their Jacks e-mail username and password
Off-campus access to library databases -- students use MyState username and password. Faculty/Staff use their network login and password.
Students, Staff, and Faculty can reset their passwords using the following link -- https://loginhelp.sdstate.edu/ Students can reset their SDSU and Board of Regents passwords.
Phone: 605-688-6776
E-mail: SDSU.SupportDesk@sdstate.edu
Web page:https://www.sdstate.edu/support-desk
Office: Morrill Hall 131
Reviewed June 2022 - SB
SDSU Users: Use your network/email login.
Non-SDSU Users Guest Login: Currently disabled.
Reviewed August 2022-SB
GeoIP allows South Dakota residents to access the SDSL-provided electronic resources off-campus/at home without logging in, just as long as users are physically located within the borders of South Dakota.
For more information on GeoIP visit this link.
Additional info and limitations:
January 29, 2019 - MK
Create an account:
More information is available at https://www.chronicle.com/page/frequently-asked-site-license-questions/.
If a user calls and cannot get into EZProxy:
They may have tried logging in unsuccessfully several times and the account has been blocked. Wait 30 minutes for the account to reset before trying to login again. While waiting, it may be helpful to restart their computer, too.
To check their username and password, have them try logging into MyState or their Jacks email account.
If they continue to have login issues after restarting their computer and waiting 30 minutes for their account to reset, they should contact the SDSU Computer Support Desk at (605) 688-6776
The proxy server (and a number of other resources) might not play well with Safari. If someone is using Safari, suggest they use another browser to access the proxy server.
If a patron reports that they can't get to the login page on the Proxy Server, have them clear the cookies in their browser. There are instructions for the 4 major browsers here.
Chrome: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95647?hl=en
Firefox: http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/delete-cookies-remove-info-websites-stored
Explorer: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/278835
Safari: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201265
If someone gets the message that "This Connection is Untrusted" or wording to that effect, while trying to access any of the library's resources, they just need to add an exception. The reason for this problem is that the certificate for a secure server (possibly our proxy server) has expired or there is an inconsistency somewhere with a certificate (secure servers seem to have several of them). Each browser does add exceptions in a different way but the instructions are generally found on the screen with the warning. Note that our proxy server is as safe as anything on the internet so it is safe to add an exception for it.
If a patron does not want to add an exception, they can try a different browser - some are more sensitive (and more safe) than others. Other than that, the other option is to bypass the proxy server - that requires that a person be on campus.
Reviewed by MK - Jan. 2021
