Chat now!

Skip to main content

Government Information: About

guide to federal, state, local and international government information resources

Services

The Documents Librarian provides reference and instructional service for the documents collection.

Contact Us

Ask@Briggs 

605.688.5107 (Library Services Desk)

605.688.6133 (FAX)

Request Information

Federal Depository Library Program

About Government Information at SDSU

Over 125 years as a Federal Depository Library

South Dakota State University was designated as as official U.S. depository library in 1889. Hilton M. Briggs Library holds over 556,000 federal government publications in its collection. Currently, approximately 77% of the materials made available through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) are selected and received at the library. Materials are received in a variety of formats including paper, electronic (CD-ROM, DVD, disk, video, online), and microfiche. These items are housed on the lower level of the library and are arranged according to the Superintendent of Documents classification system (SuDoc).

Our purpose is to provide both the SDSU community and the general public with government information. The mission of the FDLP is to disseminate information from all three branches of government to participating depository libraries. Those libraries designated as depository libraries maintain federal information products and make those products freely accessible to the general public. The FDLP was established by Congress to ensure free access by the American public to its government's information. Depository libraries provide professional, local, no-fee access to government information.
 

 

About Hilton M. Briggs Library

Named for former University President Hilton M. Briggs (served 1958-1972) the current South Dakota State University library opened in 1977. The general collection includes 673,000 bound volumes, 556,000 government documents, 18,000 e-books, 754 paper journal subscriptions, 34,000 online journals, 82,000 electronic government documents and nearly 80,000 maps.   Archives and special collections encompass approximately 7,500 linear feet of materials, including over 2,000 linear feet of materials contained in the Thomas A. Daschle Career Papers.

Librarians conduct more than 300 library presentations per year for over 7,300 people, serving both on-campus and distance students, and provide online access to more than 70 Research Guides.  In addition, they respond to approximately 9,000 information inquiries and research requests from students, faculty, and community members both in person and via a variety of technologies.  The library circulates approximately 27,000 items per year and facilitates over 8,800 interlibrary loan and document delivery requests.  It hosts databases that are searched over 2 million times annually.

Documents Collection Policy

Quick Links

New! GovInfo.gov is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides easy access to government information via smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers.

South Dakota State Plan for Federal Depository Services

Statistical Sources Guide

Federal Income Tax

Elections and Voting Guide

Related Pages

Government Information Topics

Elections and Voting

(coming soon)

LibGuides Footer