LibGuides: Government Information: International

General Information

World Factbook from the CIA This work contains key political, cultural, and historical facts about most countries.
Country Studies
Series provides description and analysis of social, economic, political and national security systems and institutions of countries worldwide.
EUROPA
The official site of the European Union.
European Union A-Z Index
European Commission Delegation guide to its website as well as other essential EU sites.
Northwestern University Library International Documents Collection
Northwestern University Library's GovInfo has been an international documents depository of the United Nations since 1946, the EU since 1970, the Organization of American States since 1962 and the World Tourism Organization since 2002.
Political Databases of the Americas
Georgetown Center for Latin American Studies
United Nations
Founded in 1945, United Nations is an international organization with 193 member countries committed to promoting international peace, security, social progress and better living standards.
UN Digital Library
United Nations Bibliographic Information System catalog to documents, voting records and indexes to speeches
CIAO
Columbia International Affairs Online can be accessed on campus or off campus by SDSU students, faculty and staff.
UN Food and Agriculture Organization
International information on food and agriculture including statistics.

Immigration

USA.gov: Passports & International Travel
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, the site provides official information on residency, employment, citizenship and adoption. The site also includes links to forms and applications.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Parent agency of Citizen and Immigration Services
U.S. Department of State

International Government Information

Although Hilton M. Briggs Library is not an international documents depository library, there are numerous tools available in the library and online. Use the Library Catalog to find books and documents in the collection. The library also subscribes to some foreign language publications as well as numerous databases suitable for international government research.

Finding Articles About Your Topic

Search a database, e.g. EBSCO MegaFILE, to find articles about a topic

To find news or legal information, search

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.

To locate and search other databases, choose from the following:

Databases Lists | Multi-Database Search

Law

LLRX.com International Legal Research
Law and technology resources for legal professionals

Statistics

Immigration Statistics
Data from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
OECD Data Explorer
Browse an alphabetical list of downloadable tables of international statistics on a wide variety of topics. Data have been compiled and published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
Statistics Canada

Treaties

Georgetown Law School Free Treaty Collection
United Nations Treaty Collection
US Department of State Treaty Affairs
The Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Treaty Affairs
serves as the principal U.S. government repository for U.S. treaties and other international agreements.