Chat now!

Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research 101: Guide Contents

Information on the research process.

Welcome

  • Contact information to get help
  • Link to feedback survey

Getting Started

  • Analyze Your Assignment
  • Research process graphic
  • Picking Your Topic IS Research video

Selecting and Developing a Topic

  • Generating Topic Ideas
  • Topics in Your Major
  • Write a Research Question
  • Developing a Topic
  • Mapping Your Research Ideas video

Using Library Resources

  • Why Use Library Resources
  • What are the Library Databases and Which One Should I Use? video
  • Should I Be Using Google or Library Resources? video
  • Using the Library's Quick Search
  • General Databases
  • Subject-Specific Databases
  • Off-Campus Access

Search Strategies

  • The Research Process
  • Consult Multiple Sources
  • One Perfect Source video

Database Features

  • Database Features
  • Database Features in Five Minutes video
  • Selecting Articles for Research video

Keywords

  • Generating Keywords
  • Search Engines vs. Library Databases
  • How Should I Search in a Database video
  • Phrase Searching
  • Tips & Tricks Phrase Searching video

Boolean Operators

  • Boolean Operators
  • Combining Search Options
  • Default Settings
  • Wildcards
  • Truncation
  • Boolean Operators video
  • Boolean Operators--More Information

Subject Terms

  • Subject Terms or Descriptors
  • Subject Terms in a Thesaurus
  • Subject Terms in an Item Record
  • Search the Subject Terms Field
  • PsycINFO Thesaurus Tutorial video

Mining Reference Lists

  • How Do You Mine a Reference List
  • Example Reference List
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Find an Article
  • Find a Book

Citation Searching

  • What is Citation Searching
  • Citation Searching Databases
  • Web of Science Core Collection: How to do a Cited Reference Search video

Source Types

  • Source Types & Information Evaluation
  • Publication Timeline
  • The Information Timeline video

Source Types Overview

  • Table summarizing source types

Books

  • Reference Books
  • Examples of Reference Books
  • Books
  • Scholarly Books
  • Scholarly Presses
  • EBooks
  • Examples of EBooks

Newspapers

  • Newspapers
  • Examples of Newspaper Articles in a Database
  • Fee-Based Access
  • Free Online News Sites
  • Political Bias

Periodicals

  • Periodicals
  • Popular and Scholarly Periodicals
  • Trade Journals
  • Examples of Periodical Articles in a Database
  • What is a Journal and a Peer Reviewed Article video
  • Peer Review of Scholarly Sources
  • Peer Review in 3 Minutes video
  • Identifying Peer-Reviewed or Refereed Articles
  • Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Web Sources

  • Web Sites and Information Evaluation
  • Investigating Web Sites
  • Domain Names
  • Not Enough Information
  • Web vs. Library Sources
  • Example Web Sites

Citing Your Sources

  • Crediting/Citing Sources
  • What is Academic Honesty video
  • Citation: A Very Brief Introduction video

Citation Styles

  • Citation Styles
  • MLA Citation Style
  • MLA Manual
  • APA Citation Style
  • APA Publication Manual
  • Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style
  • Journal of Animal Science (JAS) Citation Style
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Citation Style
  • IEEE Citation Style

Information Evaluation

  • Why Evaluate
  • Research Purpose
  • Getting Started
  • Using Evaluation Criteria

Using Evaluation Criteria

  • Using Evaluation Criteria
  • Evaluating Sources video
  • Evaluation Criteria

Fake News

  • What is Fake News
  • Identifying Fake News
  • Identifying Fake News Video
  • Library Tips in Movie Clips: News Literacy video
  • More Information
  • Resources for Fact Checking
LibGuides Footer