LibGuides: Research 101: Using Library Resources

Why Use Library Resources?

Library databases offer a more organized information access system than search engines like Google. Databases offer superior searching capabilities and make it easier to evalute sources. The table below identifies some of the strengths of library databases and search engines.

	Library Databases	Search Engines
General Information
Looking up specific facts
Most up-to-date information on developing news
Numerous options to narrow or modify a search to find relevant information
Identifying source types (book, newspaper, journal, etc.)
Finding up-to-date scholarly information
Identifying authors/creators and their qualifications
Identifying edited and reviewed sources
Identifying purpose of a source (informative, persuasive, commercial, etc.)
Providing an open forum for expressing opinions

What are the Library Databases and Which One Should I Use?

NEIU Library (1:23)

Google and Library Resources Video

Search engines like Google work for some purposes, but for academic projects library databases are more efficient and productive tools.

NEIU Ron Williams Library

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access PRIMO Discovery Service. Quick Search searches a number of the library's databases simultaneously. Results will include records for books, articles, ebooks and other source types.

General Databases

General databases cover many topic areas and are excellent resources for undergraduate research. Two general databases available through Briggs Library are listed below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Broad, multidisciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Journals

Looking for a specific journal? Use the FIND A JOURNAL option on the library's home page. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage.

Off Campus Assess to Briggs Library

Use your SDSU credentials to access Briggs Library databases from off-campus locations: https://www.sdstate.edu/hilton-m-briggs-library/campus-access-briggs-library.

Subject-Specific Databases

Briggs Library provides access to over 200 databases. General databases cover a broad range of topics. Other library databases limit their coverage to certain topic areas. These are valuable for in-depth and scholarly research. Consult the library's Research Guides to identify recommended databases in your subject area. Below are just a few examples of subject-specific databases.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Produced by NISC, this is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Covers modern languages and literature, including linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and college-level teaching of languages and literature. Includes 2.7 million records for books, articles, websites, and dissertations. Coverage for some titles dates back to 1880’s. Published by the Modern Language Association, a not-for-profit organization committed to the study and teaching of language and literature. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Engineering Village - Compendex This link opens in a new window Nearly 19 million references and abstracts from thousands of journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports. All aspects of engineering and applied science are covered: bioengineering, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, electronics and communications, mechanical and automotive engineering, and civil engineering. Coverage from 1969 to present.