LibGuides: American Indian and Indigenous Studies Research Guide: Articles

American Indian Studies Librarian

Michele Christian

Email Me

Subjects: American Indian Studies, Archives, Daschle Collection, SDSU People & History

Searching for Articles

Searching for articles relating to American Indian Studies can be done in a variety of ways.

The first is to use the Quick Search feature on the Hilton M. Briggs Library's website by entering keywords on a specific topic.
Another way to locate articles is to search specific databases. These databases are narrower in focus than the Quick Search feature and may yield more relevant articles relating to your topic. A list of databases concerning American Indian Studies can be found on this page.
Although less efficient, finding articles can also be done by browsing specific journals. This is a good strategy when identifying topics to research. Below is a listing of journals relating to American Indian Studies.

Journals

American Indian & Alaska Native Mental Health Research: The Journal of the National Center
11/01/2003 to present available online
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
The American Indian Culture and Research Journal includes scholarly articles and reviews regarding the following disciplines as they relate to American Indian Studies: history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
more...less...
Volumes 7 - 40 are also available in the Hilton M. Briggs Library PERIODICALS/LOWER LEVEL 970.00497 Am35.
American Indian Law Review
American Indian Law Review on JSTOR
American Indian Law Review offers scholarly articles examining laws that relate to indigenous people.
American Indian quarterly on JSTOR
American Indian Quarterly contains scholarly articles spanning the diverse disciplines that comprise and contribute to American Indian Studies.
more...less...
Volumes 1 - 36 are also available in paper in the Hilton M. Briggs Library lower level: 970.105 Am34
Journal of American Indian Education on JSTOR
The Journal of American Indian Education offers scholarly articles relating to the education of indigenous people.
more...less...
Volumes 1 - 15 are also available in micro fiche in the Hilton M. Briggs Library FICHE-PERIODICALS/LOWER LEVEL 370.970105 J827, Fiche

Volumes 25-50 are available in paper in Hilton M. Briggs Library PERIODICALS/LOWER LEVEL 370.970105 J827
Native American and Indigenous Studies on JSTOR
Native American and Indigenous Studies includes scholarly articles and creative works relating to indigenous people.
Studies in American Indian Literatures on JSTOR
Studies in American Indian Literatures focuses on written, spoken, and visual texts created by indigenous people. Also includes issues from an earlier title: Newsletter of the Association for Study of American Indian Literatures, 1977-1979
more...less...
Volumes 15-23 are also available in paper in the Hilton M. Briggs Library PERIODICALS/LOWER LEVEL 810.89705 St94
Tribal college journal of American Indian higher education : TCJ.
Wicazo Sa Review on JSTOR
The focus of the Wicazo Sa Review is to aid indigenous people in maintaining control of their scholarly and creative works.
more...less...
Volumes 1 - 16 are also available in people in the Hilton M. Briggs Library PERIODICALS/LOWER LEVEL 973.049705 W63

Additional Journals

Use the Journals List to determine the library's access to specific publications. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage.

American Indian Databases

American Indian Histories and Cultures
This collection provides historical and personal stories about early contact with European settlers and the political, social, and cultural effects of contact on American Indian life. Materials include treaties, speeches, diaries, artwork, rare printed books, newspaper articles, and photographs.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Consists of documents from the FBI's files on the American Indian Movement, 1968-1979.
American Indian Newspapers
American Indian Newspapers includes digital files of 49 newspapers from a range of Native American communities in the United States and Canada from 1828 to 2016 (most of the coverage is from 1970-2016).
Included in the collection are national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective, include the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
The database includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.

North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them

Databases and Indexes

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. Publication years: 1975 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.

LexisNexis Academic
Focuses on news, legal, and company information. The source includes many newspapers in full-text as well as TV and radio news broadcast transcripts. Legal cases come from the U.S. and international sources and some law reviews are included full-text. The system allows you to look at information on one company or to create a dossier and compare several. It includes SEC filings. It is also a good place to find information about people.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully covers over 2,900 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage from 1969 to present.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.

Print Indexes

Historical Abstracts Periodicals

Holdings: 1955-1970

Location: Lower Level/Compact Shelving: 909.05 .H629

Historical Abstracts Part A: Modern History Abstracts, 1775-1914

Holdings: 1970-1999

Location: Lower Level/Compact Shelving: 909.05 .H629.2

Historical Abstracts Part B: Twentieth Century Abstracts, 1914 -