LibGuides: American Indian and Indigenous Studies Research Guide: Indigenous Languages

Dakota/Lakota Language Resources in the H.M. Briggs Library

Dakota Tawaxitku Kin - Dakota Friend
Dakota Tawaxitku Kin, or The Dakota Friend, ran from 1850 – 1852 and was written in both Santee Dakota and English, making it one of the first Dakota language publications. The Dakota Mission organization printed the newspaper in St. Paul, MN. Gideon Pond, the newspaper’s editor, came to Minnesota with his brother Samuel to work as missionaries. The brothers helped to produce a written Dakota language alphabet and assembled the first Dakota-English dictionary. According to the publication’s mission statement, the newspaper aimed to share stories of interest to encourage reading among the Dakota people. It included local news, sports, language lessons, and treaty transcripts. After only 20 issues, the newspaper ended with the August 1852 Vol.2, No. 8. The Hilton M. Briggs Library does not have Vol. 1, No. 3-4.
more...less...
Original copies can be seen the University Archives and Special Collections. The call number is 070 D3.

Iapi Oaye - Word Carrier
Iapi Oaye, also known as The Word Carrier, is a Dakota language missionary newspaper first published in Greenwood, South Dakota and later published in Santee, Nebraska.

The South Dakota State University Archives and Special Collections has v.1-13 (1871-1884); new series v.1-4 (1884-1887), however Nov. 1883 and Apr.-May 1887 issues are not in this collection.

The Minnesota Historical Society has digitized and made the Iapi Oaye available online at: http://www.mnhs.org/newspapers/hub/word-carrier
more...less...
The Minnesota Historical Society has digitized and made the Iapi Oaye available online at: http://www.mnhs.org/newspapers/hub/word-carrier

ALTWIN : a Lakota's tribute with indigenous notion : a promulagated [i.e. promulgated] autobiography from a common Sicangu Kul Wicasa Lakota gentile by Grassrope, Altwin
Call Number: SD COLLECTION (ARCHIVES)/UPPER LEVEL E99.B8 G69 2003
ISBN: 0974920304
Publication Date: 2003
Includes English-Lakota dictionary (p. 244-459).
A Dakota-English Dictionary by Stephen R. Riggs
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL PM1023 .R55 1992
ISBN: 0873512820
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Originally published: Washington, D.C. : Govt. Print. Office, 1890.
Dictionary of modern Lakota by Text in English-Lakota (p. 4-62), and Lakota-English (p. 63-112). Language English
Call Number: WOKINI KNOWLEDGE CIRCLE/MAIN LEVEL PM1023 .D53 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Text in English-Lakota (p. 4-62), and Lakota-English (p. 63-112).
Language
English
"(Lakota eyapi ognayan wašicun wicoiye kin yuieskapi)."
A dictionary of the Teton Dakota Sioux language; Lakota-English, English-Lakota, with considerations given to Yankton and Santee. Oie wowapi wa[Greek eta] Lakota-Ieska, Ieska-Lakota. by Buechel, Eugene. Manhart, Paul, ed. University of South Dakota. Institute of Indian Studies.
Call Number: WOKINI KNOWLEDGE CIRCLE/MAIN LEVEL PM1024.Z9 T42
Publication Date: 1970
Oie wowapi wa[Greek eta] Lakota-Ieska, Ieska-Lakota.
An English-Dakota Dictionary by John P. Williamson
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL PM1023 .W65 1992
ISBN: 0873512839
Publication Date: 1992-10-15
Originally published: New York : American Tract Society, 1902.
English-Lakota dictionary, 1889-1989 by Keith, Sidney
Call Number: WOKINI KNOWLEDGE CIRCLE/MAIN LEVEL PM1024.Z9 T467 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Lakota Dictionary by Eugene Buechel (Editor); Paul Manhart (Editor)
Call Number: WOKINI KNOWLEDGE CIRCLE/MAIN LEVEL PM1024.Z9 L333 2002
ISBN: 0803261993
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
New Lakota dictionary : Lakota-English, English-Lakota = Lakȟótiyapi-Wašíčuiyapi, Wašíčuiyapi-Lakȟótiyapi by Lakota Language Consortium
Call Number: PM1024.Z9 L335 2022
Publication Date: 2022

Everyday Lakota conversation tape by Dunham, Christine. Karol, Joseph S. Sinte Gleska College.
Call Number: SD COLLECTION (ARCHIVES)/UPPER LEVEL PM1022 .E93 1991
Publication Date: 1991
English and Lakota; commentary in English.
1 sound cassette (ca. 70 min.) : analog.
Christine Dunham speaks words and phrases from the Everyday Lakota dictionary for beginners, beginning on p. 88. She speaks first the English word or phrase, and then the Dakota equivalent. Describes differences between men's and women's questions.
Dakota language Santee by Agnes, Ross
Call Number: BOOKS/UPPER LEVEL ; PM1022 .R67 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Presents an introduction to the Dakota language in the eastern "D" dialect, translating common phrases from English and elucidating their pronunciation to reflect subtle differences from other dialects.
1 sound cassette : analog + 1 volume
Lakota a language course for beginners by Oglala Lakota College
Call Number: AUDIO VISUAL/MAIN LEVEL ; PM1024.Z9 L33 1989 Cassettes
Publication Date: 1989
15 sound cassettes : analog, 1 7/8 ips + 1 book (87 p. ; 28 cm.) + 1 set of test sheets (7,2 p. ; 28 cm.).

Songs and dances of the Lakota by Black Bear, Ben. Theisz, R. D.
Call Number: WOKINI KNOWLEDGE CIRCLE/MAIN LEVEL ML3557 .B6 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Song texts and introductions in Lakota, with English translations by Howard P. Bad Hand.
Cassettes copyrighted in 1988 and located in the SD COLLECTION (ARCHIVES)/UPPER LEVEL ML3557 .B6 1976
Sending their voices : essays on Lakota musicology by Theisz, R. D.
Call Number: SD COLLECTION (ARCHIVES)/UPPER LEVEL ML3557 .T34 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Essays originally published: Wassaja, 1977; Great Plains quarterly, 1987; Kansas quarterly, 1981; Indians and Europe, 1987; and The European review of Native American studies, 1988.

Neglecting the conspicuous : the teaching of American Indian music and dance -- Acclamations and accolades : honor songs in Lakota society today -- The bad speakers and the long braids : references to foreign enemies in Lakota song texts -- Multifaceted Double Woman : legend, song, dream, and meaning -- Song texts and their performers : the centerpiece of contemporary Lakota identity formulation.
12 old traditional Sioux songs of the Teton Oglala Lakota Sioux by Sons of the Oglalas. Two Bulls, Matthew, 1921-1996. Two Bulls, Nellie, 1926-2007.
Call Number: AV CABINET/MAIN LEVEL M1669 .S66 2001 CD
Publication Date: 2001
[Disc 1] Flag (President Kennedy) song ; Veterans honoring song ; Veterans killed in action honoring song ; Sneak up song ; Show song (Come to the performance) ; Old time traditional song for retired dancers ; Intertribal fancy war dance songs ; Round dance songs -- [Disc 2] Intertribal fancy war dance songs ; Penny dance songs ; Omaha committee honoring song ; Rabbit dance songs ; war dance songs.

Subject Guide

Michele Christian

Email Me

Subjects: American Indian Studies, Archives, Daschle Collection, SDSU People & History

Indians -- Languages	Iowa language
Indians of North America -- Languages	Kiowa language
Indians of South America -- Languages	Lakota dialect
Great Plains--Languages	Osage language
Arapaho language	Pawnee language
Assiniboine dialect	Santee dialect
Caddoan languages	Shoshoni language
Cheyenne language	Siouan languages
Dakota language	Yankton dialect

American Indian and Indigenous Studies Research Guide: Indigenous Languages

Finding Indigenous Language Materials in the H.M. Briggs Library

Dakota/Lakota Language Resources in the H.M. Briggs Library

Subject Guide