LibGuides: American Indian and Indigenous Studies Research Guide: Databases

American Indian Databases

Indigenous Histories and Cultures
This collection provides historical and personal stories about early contact with European settlers and the political, social, and cultural effects of contact on American Indian life. Materials include treaties, speeches, diaries, artwork, rare printed books, newspaper articles, and photographs.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Consists of documents from the FBI's files on the American Indian Movement, 1968-1979.
American Indian Newspapers
American Indian Newspapers includes digital files of 49 newspapers from a range of Native American communities in the United States and Canada from 1828 to 2016 (most of the coverage is from 1970-2016).
Included in the collection are national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective, include the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
The database includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.

North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them

Email Me

Subjects: Archives & Special Collections