In the Briggs Library, many of the books about American Indians can be found on the second floor of Briggs Library in the general collection and in the South Dakota Collection in the Archives and Special Collections.
The general Library of Congress call numbers for this subject include:
Native Reads is an initiative of the First Nations Development Institute to recognize and exalt Indigenous writers and their works. The program began in 2020 and focused on the literature of the Oceti Sakowin (Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota). First Nations worked with the Oak Lake Writers Society to compile a list of works that would increase awareness and understanding of Oceti Sakowin cultures and traditions. The list includes works by historical and contemporary writers.
Below is the list of Native Reads books in the Hilton M. Briggs Library.
Off-Season City Pipe by 
Rock, Ghost, Willow, Deer by 
The Indian To-day; the Past and Future of the First American by 
The Raccoon and the Bee Tree by 
Light on the Indian World by 
Living in Two Worlds by This Stretch of the River by 
Turtle Lung Woman's Granddaughter by 
George Sword's Warrior Narratives by Constitution and Bylaws of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe by 
Not Without Our Consent by 
Stories and Reflections by Stepping off the Keelboat by Ehanna Woyakapi : History and Culture of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota by Ehanna woyakapi : History and Culture of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota by 
Why I Can't Read Wallace Stegner and Other Essays by 
From the River's Edge by 
Anti-Indianism in Modern America by 
Notebooks of Elizabeth Cook-Lynn by Then Badger Said This by The Power of Horses and Other Stories by I Remember the Fallen Trees by 
New Indians, Old Wars by 
In Defense of Loose Translations by 
Waterlily by 
Beyond the Reach of Time and Change by 
Soldiering in the Shadow of Wounded Knee by 
Ella Deloria's "Iron Hawk" by Yellowstone Command by Evidence and the Custer Enigma by 
Fort Randall on the Missouri, 1856-1892 by Battles and Skirmishes of the Great Sioux War, 1876-1877 by 
Lakota Recollections of the Custer Fight by 
The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn by 
Returning to the Lakota Way by 
The Long Knives Are Crying by 
The Lakota Way of Strength and Courage by 
Hundred in the Hand by 
The Journey of Crazy Horse by 
Winter of the Holy Iron by 
In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse by 
The Politics of Hallowed Ground by Autobiography of Mary C. Collins, Missionary to the Western Sioux by 
A Companion to American Indian History by 
Our History Is the Future by 
Standing with Standing Rock by 
Indians in Unexpected Places by The Winter of the Salamander by 
The Invisible Musician by 
The Rock Island Hiking Club by 
The Sioux in South Dakota History by 
History of the Santee Sioux by The Village Indians of the Upper Missouri by 
Speaking for the Generations by 
The World We Used to Live In by 
Evolution, Creationism, and Other Modern Myths by American Indian Policy in the Twentieth Century by 
C. G. Jung and the Sioux Traditions by 
American Indian Sovereignty and Law by 
The Biographical Directory of Native American Painters by 
Chronology of Native North American History by 
Dictionary of Native American Literature by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today [2 Volumes] by 
Native American Food Plants by 
Native Americans and the Law by 
Native American Women by 
The Native North American Almanac by 
Who Was Who in Native American History by The South Dakota Collection is located in the Archives & Special Collections of the Hilton M. Briggs Library. The collection contains books relating to South Dakota and written by South Dakota authors.
The collection includes numerous books about the Indigenous People of South Dakota.
