LibGuides: Education Research Guide: K-12 Student Resources

K-12 Student Resources

BookFLIX This link opens in a new window
Interactive resources for children, preschool through 3rd grade. Pairs video storybooks with related non-fiction books. The "read-along" feature allows kids to listen while the book is read to them. Educational puzzles, a “meet the author” feature, and age-appropriate Web sites allow for further exploration of topics. Also includes resources for educators—lesson plans, curriculum correlations, and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Guiding readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests. Book reviews, biographies, awards and bestseller lists, and book series.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Daily life and culture, statistics, history, customs, lifestyles, recipes and interviews from over 200 countries. In four modules: World, Kids, United States, and Canada.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Explora Kids (Primary Schools) This link opens in a new window
Offers searching and browsing for elementary school students (grades K-6). Indexes magazines, encyclopedias, books, biographies and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 entries providing summaries and overviews for a variety of subject areas. Includes selected images and brief biographies. Updated annually.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Miss Humblebee's Academy This link opens in a new window
Interactive learning program for ages 2-6; in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Resources for elementary school students. Includes magazines, reference books, images, and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides access to full text science-oriented content for secondary education students from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. It also provides standards-based content correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Resources for elementary and middle school students and education professionals. Search or browse for information from newspapers, magazines, reference books, websites, and images. Features include non-fiction books, science fair explorer, current events and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Discover This link opens in a new window
Offers reference resources for students reading below year level because of language difficulties, including reluctant readers, EFL, ESL, and adult literacy students. The collection includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, auto translation into 30 languages, multimedia, and interactive video.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Dramatic Learning This link opens in a new window
Adaptions of classic plays for grades 1-12. Scripts, lesson plans, activities, how to put on plays and apply these materials in the classroom.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Early World of Learning This link opens in a new window
For preschoolers and early elementary students. Narrated stories, interactive games, original videos, and a visual interactive encyclopedia to help develop and strengthen vocabulary, reading, and other skills.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Kids This link opens in a new window
Provides general reference information for elementary school (grades K-5) students. Includes easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia, images and videos as well as games, science projects, and activities.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of encyclopedia articles plus images, videos, audio files, student activities, research tools and more. Designed for grades 5-9
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Guiding readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests. Book reviews, biographies, awards and bestseller lists, and book series.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Daily life and culture, statistics, history, customs, lifestyles, recipes and interviews from over 200 countries. In four modules: World, Kids, United States, and Canada.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Explora Teens (Secondary Schools) This link opens in a new window
A research database especially for middle and high school students (Grades 7-12), with material from encyclopedias, magazines, books, and more
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 entries providing summaries and overviews for a variety of subject areas. Includes selected images and brief biographies. Updated annually.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Resources for middle school students. Includes materials from magazines, biographies, reference books, historical essays, images, and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides access to full text science-oriented content for secondary education students from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. It also provides standards-based content correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Resources for elementary and middle school students and education professionals. Search or browse for information from newspapers, magazines, reference books, websites, and images. Features include non-fiction books, science fair explorer, current events and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Resources for middle school and high school students, focusing on investigating pro and con positions for important societal issues.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Dramatic Learning This link opens in a new window
Adaptions of classic plays for grades 1-12. Scripts, lesson plans, activities, how to put on plays and apply these materials in the classroom.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Student This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of encyclopedia articles plus images, videos, audio files, student activities, research tools and more. Designed for grades 5-9
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Guiding readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests. Book reviews, biographies, awards and bestseller lists, and book series.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each issue focuses on one controversial topic and includes an overview, background, chronology, and pro-con debates. Full-text back to 1923.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Daily life and culture, statistics, history, customs, lifestyles, recipes and interviews from over 200 countries. In four modules: World, Kids, United States, and Canada.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Explora Teens (Secondary Schools) This link opens in a new window
A research database especially for middle and high school students (Grades 7-12), with material from encyclopedias, magazines, books, and more
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 entries providing summaries and overviews for a variety of subject areas. Includes selected images and brief biographies. Updated annually.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Provides practice tests, study materials, and e-books to help with educational, career, and life skills. Includes TOEFL and IELTS test preparation, Graduate School Admissions Exams (GRE, SLAT, MAT, MCAT, PCAT, GMAT), College Placement and CLEP exams, and many more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources for high school students (Grades 9-12). Includes magazines, biographies, primary source documents, reference books, images, and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries, includes general and academic sources, reference books, biographies, primary sources, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects, the database can be used as a guide to debate, develop arguments, write position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides access to full text science-oriented content for secondary education students from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. It also provides standards-based content correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Resources for middle school and high school students, focusing on investigating pro and con positions for important societal issues.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Dramatic Learning This link opens in a new window
Adaptions of classic plays for grades 1-12. Scripts, lesson plans, activities, how to put on plays and apply these materials in the classroom.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of encyclopedia articles plus images, videos, audio files, primary sources, magazine articles, special reports, curriculum correlations, and more. Designed for high school students and adults.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.