Chat now!

Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Research Guide: Books, Videos, Government Documents

A guide to information and resources in education. Please ask a librarian if you want additional assistance with your research.

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access PRIMO Discovery Service.  Quick Search searches the library's catalog and a number of the library's databases simultaneously. After conducting a search, use can use the refining options to limit your results to a specific source type such as books, audio visual, or government documents.

eBooks

More Information on eBooks

Consult the research guide E-books at Briggs Library.

WorldCat Search Box

Search thousands of library catalogs all at once.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Government Documents

Web Searching

Many government agencies have Web sites to facilitate the distribution of information to the public. Look for gov in a site's address or URL; this indicates a government site. Example:http://nces.ed.gov.

Specialized Databases

The following databases index government information.

Curriculum Collection Information

The collection provides resources for undergraduates pursuing careers in teaching and includes a sampling of K through 12 textbooks and curriculum guides. Items check out for a semester to accommodate those engaged in student teaching.To find curriculum resources use the Quick Search option on the library's home page. Type in terms that describe your topic Once you  have a results list use the Location limiter and choose CURRICULUM/LOWER LEVEL option.

The Curriculum Collection is located on the lower level of the library, north of the Government Documents office. Please ask at the Library Services Desk for assistance.

Videos

LibGuides Footer; South Dakota State University; Brookings, SD 57007; 1-800-952-3541