LibGuides: Education Research Guide: Articles

Educator Resources

BookFLIX This link opens in a new window Interactive resources for children, preschool through 3rd grade. Pairs video storybooks with related non-fiction books. The "read-along" feature allows kids to listen while the book is read to them. Educational puzzles, a “meet the author” feature, and age-appropriate Web sites allow for further exploration of topics. Also includes resources for educators—lesson plans, curriculum correlations, and more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Provides practice tests, study materials, and e-books to help with educational, career, and life skills. Includes TOEFL and IELTS test preparation, Graduate School Admissions Exams (GRE, SLAT, MAT, MCAT, PCAT, GMAT), College Placement and CLEP exams, and many more.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Specialized collection for education professionals. Includes journal articles and reports on a range of topics in the field of education.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window Resources for middle school and high school students, focusing on investigating pro and con positions for important societal issues.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Resources for educators. Emphasis on peer-reviewed journals.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
World Book Discover This link opens in a new window Offers reference resources for students reading below year level because of language difficulties, including reluctant readers, EFL, ESL, and adult literacy students. The collection includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, auto translation into 30 languages, multimedia, and interactive video.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Primary Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
ERIC Web (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.

Additional Databases

In addition to the databases listed above, the following databases can be useful in finding articles and other resources related to education.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Dissertations & Theses Global (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Dissertations & Theses at South Dakota State University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Dissertations and theses produced by South Dakota State University students. Not all dissertations and theses are available full-text in this database. Indexing from 1958-2011.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database covering since 1970 a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. Over 349,875 records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications with 1000 added monthly.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Broad, multidisciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Using the Library's Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access PRIMO Discovery Service. Quick Search searches a number of the library's databases simultaneously. Results will include records for books, articles, ebooks and other source types.

Database Help

Ask a librarian for help or use help links and tutorials in the databases.

ERIC Tutorials
Information in print and video format on using the ERIC database.