Education Research Guide: Introduction

Welcome to the library research guide for Teaching, Learning & Leadership. As a subject librarian at Hilton M. Briggs Library, one of my fields of specialization is education. Subject Librarian services include but are not limited to:

• Attend department or program meetings
• Update faculty about new services and resources
• Offer instruction in the use of relevant library resources within courses or separate workshops
• Provide in-depth research consultation services for students, faculty and staff
• Respond to feedback from the department about collections and other concerns
• Work with departments to make our information systems more approachable to students, and to integrate library resources into course pages
• Participate in graduate and undergraduate orientation activities

Please ask me questions about the library and your research!

Education Week is available full text through Briggs Library via EBSCO and ProQuest databases.

• Click here to go directly to the library record for the publication Education Week. (You can find this record on your own by searching for Education Week using either Quick Search or Find a Journal on the library's home page.)
• Click on either EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library. These two library databases provide access to Education Week.
• For off-campus access you will need to enter your username and password.
• You can now browse specific issues or search within the publication.

*The library does not provide access via the publication's Web site.

Praxis tests measure teacher candidates' knowledge and skills. The tests are used for licensing and certification processes.

SDSU students, staff, and faculty can access Praxis resources, including practice tests, through the Learning Express Library, one of Briggs Library's databases.

• Start at the library’s homepage (https://www.sdstate.edu/hilton-m-briggs-library)
• Click on Databases A-Z
• Go to the L’s and click on Learning Express Library

If you are off-campus you will need to use your SDSU credentials to connect to the database. Information about off-campus access to Briggs Library resources can be found at https://www.sdstate.edu/hilton-m-briggs-library/campus-access-briggs-library

• Once you are connected to the Learning Express Library you can search for the resources you want such as praxis.

• Once you have connected to the Learning Express Library, create a personal account. Use the Sign In/Register link. This requires you to provide an email address and password. This is a sign in for the database and does not have to be the same as a University account. Creating a personal sign in allows you to save your work in progress and return to where you left off the next time you log in. It is also necessary for revisiting some resources, like taking a test twice.