LibGuides: English 201 Madsen Research Guide: Home

English Librarian

Linda Kott

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

605.688.5957

Subjects: Education, Humanities, Modern Languages, Social Sciences

MLA Citation Help

Cite Your Sources: MLA Style
MLA Sample Paper
Purdue OWL MLA Formatting & Style Guide
From Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Quick Search

On the library's home page use the Quick Search option to access PRIMO Discovery Service. Quick Search searches the library's catalog and a number of the library's databases simultaneously.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies Database

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.

Subject-Specific Databases

Some library databases limit their coverage to certain topic areas. These subject-specific databases are valuable for in-depth and scholarly research.

Topics for this class can vary considerably and so will the databases you may want to consult. Use the library's Research Guides to identify recommended databases in a variety of subject areas. Examples of subject-specific database are listed below.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Focused on environmental topics including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Covers more than 670 full-text journals in communication and mass media. Over 1,000 core titles are indexed with over 600 of those being active periodicals. Coverage goes back to 1900. More than 240 full-text journals not available in Communication & Mass Media Complete.
Agricola - Ebsco This link opens in a new window Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.

Briggs Library Research Guides

Library Research Guides will help you identify recommended databases in a variety of subject areas. Examples of Research Guides are linked below. Use the library's comprehensive list of Research Guides for more options.

Example Web Sites

What is Sustainabilty?
From the University of Iowa
SDSU's Sustainability Page
Defending science: How the art of rhetoric can help.
From the National Communication Association.
Silencing Science Tracker
Tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information.

Example Articles

Ceccarelli, Leah. "Manufactured Scientific Controversy: Science, Rhetoric, and Public Debate." Rhetoric & Public Affairs, vol. 14, no. 2, 2011, pp. 195-228.

Cyphert, Dale. “From Product to Process: The Rhetoric of Sustainability and Evolving Management Practice.” Business and Professional Communication Quarterly, vol. 84, no. 3, 2021, pp. 242–65, https://doi.org/10.1177/2329490620987835.

Knight, Melinda. “The Rhetoric of Sustainability: Origins and Practices.” Business and Professional Communication Quarterly, vol. 84, no. 3, 2021, pp. 179–80, https://doi.org/10.1177/23294906211038039.

Pickering, Kristin. “Negotiating Ethos: An Army Corps of Engineers Resource Manager Persuades a Community to Protect a Recreational Lake Area.” Business and Professional Communication Quarterly, vol. 84, no. 3, 2021, pp. 205–41, https://doi.org/10.1177/23294906211012401.