LibGuides: Economics and Management: Find Articles and Journals

Management and Economics Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

605-688-5955

Subjects: Arts & Sciences, Biology & Microbiology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Citing Sources, Division of Economics & Management, Economics, Geography, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physics

Helpful Links

Library Databases

Library databases collect articles from different journals. They are useful resources in your research, since you can search for your research topic across different journals and other types of sources at the same time. Below are some useful databases for research in Management and Economics, pulled from the library's A-Z List of databases.

AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window
A free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles. You can limit your search to find SDSU publications only.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides information from business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier has more than 2,300 journals 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, and includes magazines, newspapers and periodicals. Also included are company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. The database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Economic Association and covers a wide range of economics-related literature. Indexes of journals, books and dissertations from 1969.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Open PRAIRIE This link opens in a new window
Open Public Research Access Institutional Repository and Information Exchange is SDSU’s institutional repository, providing access to publications of SDSU faculty, staff, and students.

Open PRAIRIE Economics and Management Theses and Dissertations
Look at examples from past SDSU students' theses and dissertations.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of more than 100 regional United States and Canadian business publications. Sources include business journals, newspapers and newswires.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.
ScienceDirect Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly peer-reviewed scientific, medical, and technical literature. Includes over 15 million articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and over 37,000 books, with coverage from 1823 to present. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

Journals

Looking at a specific journal's coverage and articles is a great way to do research and learn more about what researchers are thinking about in your field. Below are a list of major journals in the fields of Management and Economics. You can search for more journals using the library's Find a Journal feature.

How to Search in Library Databases

Use quotation marks around phrases to search for that exact wording

Examples: "social media" "higher education" "traumatic brain injury"

Switch out your keywords for synonyms or other words that mean close to the same thing

Example: If one keyword is "teenagers," try "adolescents"

Check your spelling; not every database is good at guessing what you mean by a misspelled word

Keep a list of all of the search words you use. Try the same words in different databases to find more information.