Skip to Main Content

Economics and Management: Articles & Current News

Use this guide to find resources related to Economics and Management.

Accessing Library Databases and Journals From Off Campus

We license many of our databases for use by SDSU students, faculty, and staff. To access them from off campus, you will need to log into our proxy server.

Students: Use your jacks e-mail username and password (use the whole e-mail address as the username).

Faculty/Staff: Use your campus login credentials.

Databases for Topic

These are the best databases we have for research in Health and Nutritional Sciences. There are more options, especially for cross-disciplinary research on the Secondary Databases tab. You can see all of our databases on the Databases list.

In addition to the databases listed on the Primary Databases tab, the following databases can be useful in finding articles and other resources related to management and economics.

You can browse our journals by topic.

Or, search for a specific journal title

Search for journal titles

  • Think about where you are searching for articles. Use library databases first, Google Scholar after library databases and end with a basic Google search. Here is an explanation of why.
  • Think about what type of information you need. Papers and speeches need more academic, research based information and a general interest. For instance, if you see a movie and are curious about a phenomenon or a person, looking it/them up in Wikipedia or on Google might be fine but when writing a paper about the phenomenon or person, you will want reliable, scholarly, in-depth information that you can verify. Here is more information on quality of information.
  • There are many strategies you can use to narrow, broaden, or refine your search. Check out the Research 101: Search Strategies pages for more information (click the down arrow on the right of the Search Strategies tab to see more information) such as:
    • Generating keywords
    • Boolean operators (searching with AND, OR, and NOT)
    • Subject terms
    • Citation searching
    • Mining reference lists

Search Alerts

Search alerts allow you to save searches and have them run automatically with the results being sent to you periodically. Check who provides the database you use most often and follow the instructions below.

Ebsco database search alert instructions.

ProQuest database search alert instructions.

Web of Science (Clarivate) database search alert instructions.

If your database is not from Ebsco, ProQuest, or Web of Science, contact your subject librarian for help.

LibKey Browser Extension

Adding the LibKey extension to your browser will help you find the full-text of articles that Briggs Library subscribes to as well as those that are open source.

  • Go to Thirdiron.com (https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/).
  • Click "Get LibKey Nomad Now"
  • Choose your browser
  • Download and install the extenstion
  • Follow instructions given for the specific browser.
  • Set up Nomad by opening the extension
    • Choose South Dakota State University
  • Click outside the setup box
  • Search a database or Google Scholar
  • See the button on the bottom of the image below (with red border)

LibKey access for article in Google Scholar

 

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take from a week to ten days. Start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, see our ILL FAQ.