NA 1 The George & Evelyn Norby Collection: Subject Files

The Brookings—City series is composed of material dealing with the city of Brookings, S.D. Folders contain clippings dealing with city government and the history of the city of Brookings. Also included are photographs and negatives.

Box 1.

1. 30th Anniversary, New Court House, School 1909–1936
2. 9/11 Attack–Public Response Materials 2001
3. Address Listing 1996
4. Address Listing by Phone Number 1996
5. Aerial Images 1973–1982
6. Airport 1928–2000
7. Armory 1938, 1975
8. Assessor 1962–1966, 1981
9. Auditor, Treasurer 1964–1966, 1987
10. Banks and Brookings City Financial Statements 1911–1931
11. Baseball 1940-1947, 1990-1994
12. Building Permits 1961–2002, [n.d.]
13. Business Promotion, Growth 1881, 1914, 1989–1999
14. Census 1960-2000
15. Centennial 1979
16. Centennial Commemorative Book 1879-1979 1979
17. Chamber of Commerce 1965-1966, 1988-2004
18. Chautauqua [n.d.]
19. Churches 2001
20. City Attorney 1999-2000
21. City Charter [n.d.]
22. City Commission–1962 1962
23. City Commission–1963 1963
24. City Commission–1964 1964
25. City Commission–1965 1965
26. City Commission–1966 1966
27. City Commissioner 1960-1999
28. City Council 1900-1901, 2002-2003
29. City Engineer 1961
30. City Hall 1882–2001
31. City Manager 1916, 1999–2003
32. Elected Officials… 2002
33. Elections 1881-2003
34. Elections—Re: Granting Liquor Licenses 1955–2000
35. Elections—Results 1881–2000
36. Elections—Sample Ballots 1924, 1930
37. Elections—Voting Precincts 1960–1962
38. Electric Utilities 1932–2000
39. Entertainment [n.d.]
40. Garbage, Landfill 1959-1987
41. Guidance Center 1963, 1969, 1976
42. Historic Preservation Commission 1988-2003
43. Historic Preservation Commission Annual Reports 1986-1990

Box 2.

1. Historic Preservation Commission Walking Tour 1987, 1992-1993
2. Historical Sites Media Campaign—"Historically Speaking" [n.d.]
3. History (I) 1879–2001
4. History (II) 1908, 1919, 1954
5. Holiday Celebrations 1936, 1969, 1989–1990
6. Hospital 1884–1999
7. Hospital, Auxiliary 1959–1961
8. Hospital, Nursing Home 1966–1974
9. Housing Complexes 1995
10. Maps 1888, 1909, 1979, 1996, [n.d.]
11. Mayors 1907–2002
12. Medical Clinic 1998-1999
13. Municipal Court 1961–1962
14. Municipal Telephone 1903–2000
15. Municipal Utilities 1959, 1971-1972, 1982, 1997
16. Opera Houses [n.d.]
17. Ordinances—1928 Revised 1928
18. Ordinances—1957 Revised 1957
19. Ordinances—1964 Revised 1964
20. Ordinances—1972 Revised 1972
21. Ordinances—City Code (I) 1996
22. Ordinances—City Code (II) 1996
23. Ordinances—City Code (III) [n.d.]
24. Ordinances—City Code (IV) [n.d.]
25. Ordinances—Constitutional Provisions Relating to Cities [n.d.]
26. Ordinances—Miscellaneous 2002-2003
27. Ordinances—Pamphlet 1984

Box 3.

1. Ordinances—Supplements (I) 1989-1990
2. Ordinances—Supplements (II) 1991-1992
3. Organizations 1950-1952, 2001, [n.d.]
4. Origins of Brookings Name 2001
5. "Our Towns" Publications 1996-1998
6. "Our Towns" Publications 2003
7. Parking 1972
8. Parks 1923-1990
9. Planning Commission 1962–1966
10. Post Office 1879-1993
11. Promotional materials 1965-2001
12. Public Library 1915–2003
13. Recreation Programs 1959–1966
14. Schools 1880–2001
15. Sewer Plant 1955, 1965, 1987
16. Streets 1901–1995
17. Summer Arts Festival 1972–1992
18. Swimming Pool 1937, 1959-1966, 1987
19. Tennis 1980, 1990
20. Visitor's Guide 2002
21. Water Department 1957–1990

Box 10.

1. Advertising—Telephone Book Covers [n.d.]
2. City/County Business Directory 1901, 1909
3. Incorporation 1883
4. South Side Screamer 1934, 1940, [n.d.]
5. Sub-Divisions of the City of Brookings 1993, 1995

Box 13.

1. Address Listing (I) 1994
2. Address Listing (II) 1994

Box 14.

1. Listing of Subscribers 1995
2. Property Listings by Address 1993-1995, 1998
3. Property Listings by Address (bound) 2000

The Brookings—County series is composed of material dealing with Brookings County. A large portion of this material deals with Brookings County towns. Folders contain mainly of newspaper clippings, photographs, and negatives. Also included are charters and histories of the county.

Box 3.

22. Assessment basis 1911–1912
23. Auditor 1963-1966
24. Brookings County History Book Information 1989
25. Businesses 1909, [n.d.]
26. Census 1860-1989
27. Charters 1881, 1901, 1996-1999
28. Child welfares 1965
29. Clippings 2001
30. Commissioners 1962-1966
31. County/City Emergency Disaster Service [n.d.]
32. County Commission Proceedings 1871-1881
33. Courthouse 1882-1982
34. Early residents 1850-1900
35. Elections 1900, 1902, 1972, 2001, [n.d.]
36. Fairs, commodity shows, festivals 1912, 1924, [n.d.]
37. Handbooks, directory 1958, 1973, 1992
38. Historical markers 1873, [n.d.]
39. History 1879-2000
40. "History of Brookings and Brookings County" by Paul Dutcher
(manuscript and copy) 1926
41. Jail 1897, [n.d.]
42. Lake Campbell 1963-1999
43. License plates 1967, 1971
44. Maps 1863-2001
45. Museum 1962-2001
46. Newspapers 1879-1983
47. Newspapers—Brookings Register History 1900-1992, [n.d.]

Box 4.

1. Officials 1880-2000
2. Old Settlers' Day 1897
3. Pensioners—Brookings County, Dakota Territory 1883 1998
4. Public Health Nurse 1965
5. Sanderson Homestead Farm 1979
6. Sheriff and Marshalls 1880-1985
7. Soil Survey 1959
8. Third Judicial Circuit Court 1910, 1913
9. Towns: Ahnberg 1938, 1956, 1980, [n.d.]
10. Towns: Aurora 1905-1990
11. Towns: Bruce 1899-1998
12. Towns: Bushnell 1924-1994, [n.d.]
13. Towns: Elkton 1909-1991
14. Towns: Histories of Medary, Fountain, Oakwood, Renshaw, and Como-Ahnberg [n.d.]
15. Towns: Incorporation notices 1881, 1884, 1909, 1914
16. Towns: Medary Medary 1925-1933
17. Towns: Midway Park 1927-1928
18. Towns: Oakwood 1899, 1932, 1967
19. Towns: Past and present [n.d.]
20. Towns: Sinai 1911-2002
21. Towns: Volga 1901-2002
22. Towns: White 1880-1993
23. Townships: Lake Sinai 1956
24. Townships: Preston 1972
25. Townships: Sherman 2000
26. Treasurer 1965-1966
27. Veterans and Veterans Memorial 1946-2000
28. Weather 1969-1990
29. Welfare 1962-1965

Box 10.

6. Brookings County Atlas 1963
7. Brookings County Atlas by Nelson Company (2 copies) 1963

The Organizations series is composed of material dealing with Brookings area organizations and clubs. Folders contain mainly of newspapers clippings, but may also include published items, such as programs and reports.

Box 4.

30. Aeolian Club 1942
31. American Association of University Women 1942
32. American Legion Auxiliary 1942
33. Big Sioux Bowmen 1966
34. Brookings Area Genealogical Society 1992-1993
35. Brookings Woman's Club 2000
36. Business and Professional Women's Club 1942
37. Commercial Club [n.d.]
38. Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) 1942, 1984
39. Elephant Club 1976
40. Elks Club 1926, 1967-1991
41. Faculty Woman's Club [n.d.]
42. Grand Army of the Republic 1906-1933
43. Grand Lodge of Dakota I.O.G.T. 1883
44. Kiwanis 1937, 1982, 2001
45. Masonic Lodge 1882-1990
46. Odd Fellows Lodge 1895-1998
47. Organizations in Brookings since 1879 2000
48. Rebekah Lodge No. 26 1895-1998
49. Rotary Club 1919-1970
50. Woman's Civic League 1937, 1950

The Churches series is composed of information about churches in the Brookings (S.D.) area. The files consist mainly of newspaper clippings, photographs/negatives, and published items, such as programs, anniversary booklets and annual reports. Some files also contain photocopied ledger pages of minutes, articles of incorporation, and charters. Material pertaining to First Lutheran Church, Brookings, S.D. makes up the largest portion of this series.

Box 4.

51. Ascension Lutheran Church 1961-1996
52. Baptist Church of White (S.D.) 1950
53. Bethel Baptist Church 1951-1984
54. Bible Baptist Temple [n.d.]
55. Calvary Orthodox Presbyterian Church of Volga (S.D.) 1950
56. Catholic Student Center (SDSC) 1957-1965
57. Chapel on the Hill 1992-2000
58. Christian Reformed Church of Volga (S.D.) 1939, 1950
59. Church of Christ (814 3rd Street) 1961-1965
60. Church of Christ (1010 6th Street) 1907-1968
61. Church of God 1958-1971
62. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints 1957-1968
63. Church of the Open Bible [n.d.]
64. Faith Reformed Church [n.d.]
65. First Assembly of God [n.d.]
66. First Baptist Church 1880-1980
67. First Baptist Church of Elkton (S.D.) 1950, 1965
68. First Church of Christ, Scientist 1961-1968
69. First English Lutheran Congregation of Aurora (S.D.) 1951
70. First Lutheran Church 1884-2000
71. First Lutheran Church—60th Anniversary 1940
72. First Lutheran Church—110th Anniversary Directory 1990

Box 5.

1. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1960 1961
2. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1987 1988
3. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1989 1989
4. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1992 1993
5. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1993 1994
6. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1996 1997
7. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1997 1998
8. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 1998 1999
9. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 2000 2000
10. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 2001 2001
11. First Lutheran Church—Annual Report 2002 2002
12. First Lutheran Church—Brookings Ladies Aid 1936-1989
13. First Lutheran Church—Celebrating 110 Years 1990
14. First Lutheran Church—Centennial Directory 1980
15. First Lutheran Church—Clippings 1908-2000
16. First Lutheran Church—Commemorating 77 Years of Kingdom Building 1957
17. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1972
18. First Lutheran Church—Directory Supplement 1973
19. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1978
20. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1979
21. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1985
22. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1993
23. First Lutheran Church—Directory 1998
24. First Lutheran Church—Facility expansion interview 2003
25. First Lutheran Church—History, 1880-1976 1976
26. First Lutheran Church—History, 1976-1980 1980
27. First Lutheran Church—Hymnal 1962
28. First Lutheran Church—Membership Directory 2000 circa
29. First Lutheran Church—Pastors, 1880-2001 1880-2001 2001
30. First Lutheran Church—Photographs [n.d.]
31. First Lutheran Church—Publications 1892-1999
32. First Lutheran Church—Women 1989
33. First Lutheran Church—"Your Poem-A-Day Book" compiled by Gladys S. Halverson [n.d.]
34. First Lutheran Church of Bruce (S.D.) 1879-1950
35. First Lutheran Church of Volga (S.D.) 1870-1964
36. First Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Brookings—Articles of Incorporation [n.d.]
37. First Presbyterian Church 1882-1997
38. First Presbyterian Church of White (S.D.) [n.d.]
39. First Reformed Church of Volga (S.D.) 1950
40. First United Methodist Church 1879-1998
41. Free Methodist Church 1950-1960
42. Grace Lutheran Church of Bruce (S.D.) 1879-1963
43. Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran Church of Elkton (S.D.) 1878-1954
44. Inter-denominational church data 1896-2000
45. Jehovah's Witnesses [n.d.]
46. Lake Campbell Lutheran Church 1970, [n.d.]
47. Lake Madison Lutheran Church of Madison (S.D.) 1948-1990
48. Lake Preston Lutheran Church 1937
49. Lake Whitewood Lutheran Church of Arlington (S.D.) 1958
50. Lutheran Church—Organizations 1886-2002
51. Lutheran Church—Other 1949-1962
52. Methodist Church charters 1880-1928
53. Methodist Church of Aurora (S.D.) 1964
54. Methodist Church of Bruce (S.D.) 1950
55. Methodist Church of Elkton (S.D.) 1950-1963
56. Methodist Church of White (S.D.) 1950
57. Methodist Student Center (SDSU) 1960-1961

Box 6.

1. Mt. Calvary Lutheran Church—Lutheran Student Center 1950-1961
2. Nidaros Lutheran Congregation of Baltic (S.D.) 1943
3. Olivet Presbyterian Church of Volga (S.D.) 1950
4. Oslo Lutheran Church 1958
5. Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic Church of Elkton (S.D.) 1879-1968
6. Peace and Reformed Church of Elkton (S.D.) 1950
7. Pioneer Lutheran Church of White (S.D.) 2001, 2001, [n.d.]
8. Scandinavian Lutheran Congregation 1974
9. Sinai (S.D.) Lutheran Church 1879-1954, 1979
10. Sioux Valley Ladies Aid 1890-1960, 1989
11. St. Paul's Catholic Church of White (S.D.) 1891-1950
12. St. Paul's Episcopal Church 1917-1993
13. St. Thomas Moore Catholic Church 2003
14. Sterling Lutheran Church 1887-2002
15. Sterling Lutheran Church—Cemetery burials 1998
16. Sterling Lutheran Church—Official Directory and Handbook 1923-1924
17. Sterling Methodist Church 1951
18. Trinity Evangelical Lutheran of Elkton (S.D.) 1884-1966
19. United Church of Christ 1992
20. United Pentecostal Church 1997
21. University Lutheran Center 1997
22. United Ministries (SDSU) [n.d.]
23. Wesleyan Methodist Church 1950-1974
24. Wesleyan Methodist Church of Bushnell (S.D.) 1950-1951

The Business series is composed of material dealing with Brookings businesses. Folders contain mainly newspaper clippings, photographs, and negatives. Most files are quite small, some contain only a photocopy of an advertisement.

Box 6.

25. 3M Company 1971-1996
26. A & W Root Beer 1960
27. Advance 1989-1990
28. Advertising 1913-1959
29. Banks 1880-1980
30. Bartling Furniture 1930
31. Bee Hive Store 1912-1914
32. Bibby Kallemeyn Dairy 1978-1979
33. Brick makers 1970-1971, [n.d.]
34. Brictson Manufacturing Co. 1912-1916
35. Brookings Opera Hall Company 1884
36. Buick Garage 1915
37. Campus Hair 2000
38. Carpetland [n.d.]
39. Cottage Store 1963
40. Council Oaks Store 1932
41. Daktronics, Inc. 1993-2000
42. Farmers' Cooperative Elevator 1922, 1966
43. Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Volga [n.d.]
44. First National Bank 1908, 1920, 1975, 2000-2001
45. Grimm's 1927
46. Gullick's Café [n.d.]
47. Harold's Printing 1963-1966
48. Hotel Dudley [n.d.]
49. Kallemeyn Dairy [n.d.]
50. Nick's Hamburger Shop 1929-1992
51. Radio (KBRK) 1955-1998
52. Radio (KFDY—KGCR—KGKG) 1923-1931
53. Ray's Corner 1958-1969
54. Sexauer, Geo. O. & Sons 1931-1979
55. Shopping Malls 1975, 1982, 1991
56. Sioux Valley Empire Electric 1955
57. Sokota 1959, [n.d.]
58. State Farm Insurance [n.d.]
59. Steam Laundry [n.d.]
60. United Building Centers 1997
61. United Retirement Center 1958-1999
62. Wilson Trucking 1960, 1962

The Historic District series is composed of material dealing with commercial and residential historic districts located within the city of Brookings. Folders contain mainly handwritten notes by George Norby and include information about the structure located at an address (occupant, years, etc.). Some newspaper clippings, photographs, and negatives are also included. Items of note include photocopies of applications to the National Register of Historic Places for both the commercial and residential historic districts in Brookings, S.D.

Box 6.

63. Commercial—National Register application and supporting material 1987
64. Commercial—Walking tour 1988
65. Commercial—Main Avenue: 100 Block 1886-1993
66. Commercial—Main Avenue: 200 Block 1881-1987
67. Commercial—Main Avenue: 300 Block 1879-1998
68. Commercial—Main Avenue: 400 Block 1881-2003
69. Commercial—Main Avenue: 500 Block 1880-1987
70. Commercial—3rd Street: 300 Block 1881-1998
71. Commercial—4th Street: 300 Block 1911-1980
72. Commercial—4th Street: 400 Block 1919
73. Other Historic Buildings—Carnegie Library 1907-1979
74. Other Historic Buildings—Courthouse 1879-1912

Box 7.

1. Residential—National Register application and supporting material 1993-1994
2. Residential—Main Avenue 1948, [n.d.]
3. Residential—Medary Avenue 1995, [n.d.]
4. Residential—3rd Avenue [n.d.]
5. Residential—5th Avenue [n.d.]
6. Residential—6th Avenue [n.d.]
7. Residential—7th Avenue [n.d.]
8. Residential—8th Avenue [n.d.]
9. Residential—9th Avenue [n.d.]
10. Residential—3rd Street [n.d.]
11. Residential—4th Street [n.d.]
12. Residential—5th Street 1904-1996
13. Residential—6th Street [n.d.]
14. Residential—7th Street [n.d.]
15. Residential—8th Street 1987, 2001, [n.d.]
16. Residential—9th Street [n.d.]
17. Residential—10th Street including Harvey Dunn [n.d.]
18. Residential—Real estate activities (1882-1927) [n.d.]
19. Residential—Selected deed searches by address (1885-1992) [n.d.]
20. Residential—Tree Walk [n.d.]

The Education series is composed of material dealing with education in Brookings County, mainly the Brookings Independent School District. Folders contain information on the Brookings County school reorganization in the 1960s.

Box 7.

21. Area schools 1952-1973
22. Brookings Independent School District 1888-1937, 1953, 1964-1967
23. Brookings Independent School District 1972-2000
24. Brookings School District newsletters 1997-2001
25. County School Census—districts 20 & 23 1892-1900
26. County school reorganization 1961-1966
27. County school taxes, apportionments 1961-1966
28. First School House in Brookings [n.d.]
29. High School—athletics 1961-1982, 1998
30. High School—key book, activity tickets 1932, [n.d.]
31. Hillcrest Elementary 1954-1990
32. Middle School—Future of vacated building 1999-2002
33. Middle School—yearbook 1970-1973
34. Sioux Valley schools reorganization 1959-1964
35. Superintendent of Public Schools 1916-1919

The South Dakota State University series is composed of collected material dealing with South Dakota State University. Folders contain information on some university facilities, departments, and events.

Box 7.

36. Agricultural Heritage Museum 1916, 1983-2002, [n.d.]
37. Alumni Association 1911, 1913, 1965
38. At State College 1960
39. Athletics 1958, 1961, 1989
40. Building descriptions 1912-2003
41. Building inventory—Cost Data 1992, 1997
42. Building survey [n.d.]
43. Campus Walking Tours 1989, [n.d.]
44. Change to university 1962-1964
45. Chapel 1913, 1924
46. Clippings—ephemera 1883-2000
47. Coolidge Sylvan Theatre 1927-1987
48. Coughlin Campanile 1909-1997
49. Distinguished Alumni 1964
50. Extension Service [n.d.]
51. Foreign Language Department 1885-1997
52. Graduation Exercises 1961

Box 8.

1. H.M. Briggs Library 1998
2. Hobo Days 1915-2002
3. Lincoln Memorial Library 1927
4. Little International 1956, 1961, 1964
5. McCrory Gardens 1988, [n.d.]
6. Music 1961
7. Parking and Traffic 1987-1988
8. SD Memorial Art Center [n.d.] 1956-1989, [n.d.]
9. Short courses 1914-1915
10. Solberg Hall 1998-2002

The Persons series is composed of material on various persons, mainly Brookings area related, but some state, regional, and national figures may also be included. Folders contain clippings, calling cards, and obituaries.

Box 8.

11. Artz, Gladys 2000
12. Bozeid, Naiem Tanios 2000
13. Buckley, Eugene "Buck" 2000
14. Cornell, W. H. [n.d.]
15. Governors—North Dakota 1997
16. Hansen, N. E. 1911-2002
17. Hauschild, Wayne 2000
18. Jarvis, James L. (Mrs.) [n.d.]
19. Knight, W. W., Judge 1956-1966
20. Lund, Harold D., Judge 1953-1966
21. McGinnis, C. M. (Mrs.) [n.d.]
22. Merchant, Dennis 2000
23. Minor, Lee H. [n.d.]
24. Morehouse, George 1903
25. Olson, Gordon Winjum 2000
26. Pinkerton, A. P., Jr. (Mrs.) [n.d.]
27. Presidents—United States 1964, 1997
28. Shepard, Jas. H. (Mrs.) [n.d.]
29. Sterud, Anna Christine 2000
30. Westerman, James 2000

The Military series is composed of material pertaining to Brookings County and South Dakota during World War I, World War I, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. Folders contain lists of military personnel who died during the wars. Other information on the subject of the military in Brookings County and South Dakota can be found here.

Box 8.

31. Dokken, George, Pvt. 1918-1921
32. Korean War 1945-1957
33. Military discharges 1949-1957
34. SD WWII Memorial 2001
35. Vietnam War 1957-1995
36. Veterans Memorial 1991
37. World War I 1917-1932
38. World War II 1944-1948

The South Dakota series is composed of various collected material on South Dakota topics, such as the Centennial and the 1972 Rapid City Flood. Folders contain clippings, booklets, brochures, etc. on topics such as travel, government, population and migration.

Box 8.

39. Arlington, S.D. 1971, 1976, [n.d.]
40. Budgetary History of 1976 South Dakota Legislature 1976
41. Calendar 1994
42. Centennial 1989-1990
43. Classic Barns of South Dakota Calendar 2000
44. Crippled Children's Hospital and School [n.d.]
45. Cultural Heritage Center [n.d.]
46. Elections 1972, 1988, [n.d.]
47. Estelline, S.D. 1975-1995
48. Government—Territorial, State 1936-1999
49. Governors 1986-1987, 1991
50. History (I) 1922
51. King of Trails Highway #77 1916
52. Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant 2002
53. Laws 1966-1991
54. Madison, South Dakota [n.d.]
55. Maps 1927, 1989, [n.d.]
56. Moody County Historical Society 1997
57. Population and migration 1960-1980
58. Post Offices 1975
59. Rapid City (S.D.) flood 1972
60. Sioux Falls, South Dakota 2002
61. Siouxland Heritage Museum 1987, 1989
62. South Dakota Cattleman Cattleman 1963-1964
63. South Dakota Dairy Association 1952-1957
64. South Dakota Hereford Association 1952-1957
65. South Dakota Newspaper Project 1994, 1997, [n.d.]
66. South Dakota Weeds 1950
67. Spencer, South Dakota 1998
68. State Capitol [n.d.]
69. State Historical Society 1992

Box 9.

1. Supreme Court 1911-1932, 1989, [n.d.]
2. Travel 1989, 1997
3. U.S. Atlas Listing of South Dakota Towns 1863, 1889, 1895, 1911
4. Watertown, S.D. 1974-1975, 1985

Box 11.

1. History (II) [n.d.]

The Fire and Police Departments series is composed of material dealing mainly with the Brookings Fire Department with a small amount of Police Department material is also included. An item of note is a 1993 Sanborn fire map for Brookings.

Box 9.

5. Brookings Fire Department 1880–2000
6. Brookings Police Department 1883–2001
7. Volunteer Fire Department 1966-1984
8. Volunteer Police 1968–1999
9. Sanborn Map—Brookings, S.D. 1993
10. South Dakota Peace Officer 1961-1962

Box 14.

5. Volunteer Fire Department—Certificate of Membership 1923

The Railroad series is composed mainly of material dealing with railroads in Brookings. A small amount of material dealing with South Dakota railroads is also included.

Box 9.

11. Brookings railroads 1879-2000
12. Brookings—Sioux Falls railway 1906–1910
13. DM&E Bypass proposal 2000
14. South Dakota railroads 1981–1983

The Miscellaneous series is composed of miscellaneous material collected by the Norby's. Folders contain maps, brochures, clippings, and magazines.

Box 9.

15. Maps 1975, [n.d.]
16. Miscellaneous brochures 1925, [n.d.]
17. Sharing Your Space: A Homeowner's Guide… 1995
18. The Constitution of the United States of America (pocket-size ed.) 1968
19. The Tieszen Technique 1937
20. The Wave 1946

Box 11.

1. Days of Steam and Glory 1968
2. Home Arts and Entertainment Magazine [n.d.]
3. Life Magazine 1959
4. Literary Digest 1929
5. LOOK Magazine 1959
6. Miscellaneous clippings 1881-1941, 1960, 1998, [n.d.]
7. Weekly Northwestern Miller 1915

The Cemetery and burial records and obituaries are composed of burial records, cemetery listings, obituaries, and death notices.

Box 12.

1. Brookings County Burials Through 1999 2000
2. Brookings County Cemetery Locations [n.d.]
3. Burial Register 1950-2002
4. Kingsbury County Cemeteries 2002
5. Lake County Cemeteries 2001-2002
6. Obituaries/Deaths 1891-2001, [n.d.]
7. Pioneer Lutheran Cemetery Burials [n.d.]

Box 14.

7. Cemetery Plot Maps [n.d.]