| Collection Number | NA 1.2 | |
| Date(s) | 1886-1998 | |
| Physical Description | 23.31 Linear Feet ; 7 horizontal file drawers, approximately 35,000 images | |
| Processing Information |
The processing of the Photograph collection is not complete. These images were found in various locations throughout the Norby Collection—in file folders interleaved with newspaper clippings, in dated enveloped in shirt boxes, and file boxes, for example. Since no real organizational structure was discovered, the decision was made to number the images starting with number one and continue as new images were unearthed. Most of the images have been kept in the order they were found (i.e. found together in an envelope or file folder), so there may be runs of like images listed in the database. Only 10,514 of an estimated 35,000 images have been processed: identified, described and placed in hanging files inside polyester sleeves. Of these, 9,304 are entered into an image database. This database is available in PDF form on the archives website and is searchable using Adobe Reader. This is the easiest way to find images. A printout of this database is available in the Trump Reading Room in the archives. This printout consists of the first 9,304 described images that have been entered into the database and consists of over 2,300 pages. Ask archives staff for assistance with this. The completed portion of this collection was processed by Crystal J. Gamradt and Megan Jaros with assistance from Wayne Hexem and Stuart Kool. The remaining unprocessed images will be added to this finding aid as time allows. |
|
| Key Words |
Subjects
|
|
| Contents Note |
The Photograph collection is composed of an estimated 35,000 negatives and photographs varying in subject. Most of the images are of Brookings, South Dakota: downtown businesses, homes, events, schools, people, etc. There is also a considerable amount of images related to towns in Brookings County, South Dakota: Sinai, Elkton, White, Arlington, Bruce. Images of South Dakota State University, ranging in topic from Hobo days to images of campus, can also be found in the collection. These images were found in various locations throughout the Norby Collection; in file folders interleaved with newspaper clippings, in dated enveloped in shirt boxes, and file boxes, for example. Since no real organizational structure was discovered, the decision was made to number the images starting with number one and continue as new images were unearthed. Most of the images have been kept in the order they were found (i.e. found together in an envelope or file folder), so there may be runs of like images listed in the database. |
|
Most of the images are negatives, 35mm and 4 x 5. There are also photographs ranging in size and several sheets of slides. These images are arranged numerically by identification number.
See staff for assistance in researching material in this collection.
Searchable PDF of image descriptions, 583 pages.
