BADM 485: Strategic Management: Find Company Information

Search for Company Information Using Business Source Premier

Option 1: Search Broadly and then Refine

1. Navigate to Business Source Premier (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Use the search boxes - put your search terms in one or more of the boxes

• Each box should contain one concept
• Use AND, OR, and NOT to combine concepts in your search. AND brings the different ideas from your research question/what you want to find out together, while OR lets you search multiple similar words in one search. You can search just by company name, or company name and a certain piece of information, including geographical area or certain time. For example: (walmart) AND (e-commerce OR online shopping)

3. Refine your search by clicking on the "All filters" button below the search box on the responses page. The filters will appear on the left. You can refine by date, source type (magazines/periodicals, newspapers, etc.), or even by company. Using my search from #2, I could choose to refine to only 01/01/2021 to 12/31/2025, and check "wal-mart stores inc." as a company to only get sources related to Walmart.
4. I could further refine my search by choosing another company such as "zmazon.com inc." to get results for both Walmart and Amazon's e-commerce.
5. Click on a title to view a source's record. Read it by clicking one of the full text links below the citation information.

Option 2: Search for Company Reports

1. Navigate to Business Source Premier  (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Scroll down on the page that opens, and find "Document Type" on the left hand side. Click on "Company Report." 
3. Scroll back up to the search boxes, and type in a company's name. I recommend just searching by company, and not adding another keyword. For example: (walmart)
4. Any company reports or MarketLine Profiles that are available will appear. You can choose to refine by by clicking on the "All filters" button below the search box on the responses page if needed.

Search for Market & Company Information on Statista

Option 1: Search by Market

1. Navigate to Statista (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Look toward the top left of the page. Hover over "Insights," then click "Explore Market Insights."
3. Search for your relevant market--for example, "electric vehicles." 
4. Choose from the suggested markets or choose a different term.
5. Change the geographic range (click on "Worldwide") if needed, and look at what is considered in and out of scope for the market.
6. You can also compare your chosen region with up to 4 other regions.

Option 2: Search for a Company Report

1. Navigate to Statista (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Search for your company name (e.g. Hobby Lobby).
3. Click on "Content Types" on the right under "Refine your search", and choose Reports.
4. Note that not all companies have a report, sometimes you will get an industry report this way.
5. If you are working with a very large/multinational company, you may want to add which country you are interested in as well, for example (walmart in the united states).
6. Click on a report. You can download it by clicking "Download" on the right hand side of the page.

Option 3: Search for a Specific Statistic

1. Navigate to Statista (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Search for a statistic or some needed data using the search box. Start your search broadly with only a few keywords, for example (pharmacy revenue). 
3. You can refine your search by content type, accuracy, location, industry, publication date, or archive. You can also add terms to your search to narrow it if you get too many results.
4. Click on a result. You may see statistics, topics (collections of statistics), or reports (collections of statistics with analysis).
5. You can get the raw data for a statistic by clicking on the statistic in the search, and then clicking "XLS" on the right hand side.

Search for Company Information (Legal) on Westlaw

Option One: Search Broadly for Information

1. Navigate to Westlaw (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Search your company name in the search box.
3. The search will take you to an "overview." To look for a specific type of information, like cases or regulations, click on one of the options on the left hand side of the search page.

Option Two: Search for a Specific Case or Regulation

1. Navigate to Westlaw (click link or click on "Databases" on the library's homepage, go to the B's and choose the database).
2. Search for a specific case, regulation, or other document--for example, "walmart v. Dukes."
3. Click on a title to be taken to a page with more information. If you are looking up a case, you will see the verdict, information about filings, and much more.

Publicly traded companies almost always have an "investor relations" page where they give updates, link to annual reports, and house other information meant for their shareholders. Locate an investor relations page by Googling the company name AND "investor relations," or use a Google site search: investor relations site:walmart.com. You may have to click on sub-pages (look for anything that says "Financials," "Presentations," or "Updates") to find exactly what you need.

Here are some examples of company investor relations pages:

You can associate SDSU or other libraries with Google Scholar so that when you search Scholar, you can easily find out if the library has access to articles.

• From the Google Scholar main page, click on Settings. It may be in the top right corner of the screen or it may be hidden in a "hamburger" style menu on the left (depending on your browser).
• On the Sessiong page, click "Library links"
• Enter "South Daktoa State University" in the search box and choose "South Daktoa State University - Get It @ SDSU"
• Click on Save.

The next time you search in Google Scholar, some records will show a link for "Find it @ SDSU." Click on this link for full text of the articles.

If you are off campus while using Google Scholar, clicking "Find it @ SDSU" may take you to our proxy server to log on. If so, use your email credentials.

Some records will not show "Find it @ SDSU," in those cases, use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article.