LibGuides: Geography and Geospatial Science: Geography 461/561

Geography Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

605-688-5955

Subjects: Arts & Sciences, Biology & Microbiology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Citing Sources, Division of Economics & Management, Economics, Geography, Nursing, Pharmacy, Physics

Archives and Special Collections at SDSU

SDSU Archives and Special Collections
Search the Collections at the SDSU Archives
Regional (Brookings) Archives Collections
Brookings National Register of Historic Districts
Includes walking tour brochure that has brief history of many downtown buildings.

Local and National Archived News

Argus Leader This link opens in a new window
Access the Argus Leader through ProQuest North Central Newspapers. Access from January 1, 1999 to the present.

Brookings Register (1903-1923)
Some later copies may be available at the Archives or on microfilm in the library.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Find Books and Journal Articles

Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find books. After searching, go to the filters on the left hand side, click on "Source Type," and then choose "Books."

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully covers over 2,900 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage from 1969 to present.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides information from business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier has more than 2,300 journals 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, and includes magazines, newspapers and periodicals. Also included are company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. The database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Digital Library of South Dakota and South Dakota Digital Archives

Digital Library of South Dakota
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota.
South Dakota Digital Archives
Maintained by the South Dakota Historical Society.
DLSD: Norby Photograph Collection
The George and Evelyn Norby, Brookings and Brookings County, South Dakota Photograph Collection is composed of photographic images of Brookings, South Dakota from 1886-1998 and includes downtown businesses, homes, events, schools, people, South Dakota State University campus, and Hobo Day. There are also images of nearby towns in the Brookings County, South Dakota: Sinai, Elkton, White, Arlington, and Bruce.
DLSD: SDSU Buildings and Landmarks
This collection of photographs features buildings and landmarks from the early years of the university when it was called Dakota Agricultural College, through the modern era.
DLSD: Regional History of Brookings
This collection consists of publications, documents, images and other materials relating to the history of the Brookings area and South Dakota.
SDDA: Brookings Photos
This Photo Collection includes photographs, glass plates, photographs and more from 1891 to the present.

Local Maps

Doug Oleson's Brookings Map
Shows changes and additions to Brookings downtown from 1878-2020.
Doug Oleson's SDSU Campus Evolution Map
See how SDSU's campus has changed over time; see when new buildings were added.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Brookings
Detailed maps of Brookings created by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Commission. Maps from 1884-1921.

Not sure how to read the Sanborn maps? Find out more about the collection here.

South Dakota Digital Archives Maps
Maps of Brookings from the South Dakota Digital Archives, Includes promotional maps, landowner maps, and more.

Find Data (National and State)

Find Statistics (Briggs Library Guide)
Find a large number of resources for finding data at both the national and state level, based around themes like population, crime, economics, health, and others.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Create a free account to view data.
Federal Reserve Economic Data: South Dakota
Economic data for the state of South Dakota.
South Dakota Economy at a Glance (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Recent data on South Dakota's economy and unemployment.

Find Data (Local)

QuickFacts: Brookings City, SD (2020 Census)
Census Reporter: Brookings, SD
Federal Reserve Economic Data: Brookings
Find a wide variety of economic data related to Brookings. Includes both graphs and raw data from a range of years (depending on data).
Brookings Businesses Listed By Year
From the Norby Collection. Includes information on businesses located in Brookings each year from 1879-1965.
Brookings Businesses Listed by Street Address
From the Norby Collection. Lists Brookings businesses by street address from 1879-2003, and includes information on if the business moved, closing dates, etc.

Tips for Finding Statistics and Data

Think about who would "care." Who would care enough to collect the data you need? Who might need to know (government agencies, professional organizations, etc.) the statistic you need to find? Thinking about who would collect your data will help you focus your search.
Check your dates. Data is collected and shared at different times--health data published in a research paper in 2022, for example, may have been collected before world events like the spread of COVID-19. Make sure to double-check that the data you find is from a timeframe that makes sense for your research.
Ask a librarian! Finding data and statistics is tricky, and often involves creative searching beyond library databases and Google Scholar. Librarians can help--use the chat at the bottom right hand corner of the page or email Aine, aine.oconnor@sdstate.edu, to get started.