LibGuides: Geography and Geospatial Science: Find Articles

Geography and Geospatial Science Librarian

Nancy Marshall

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library
SDSU
1300 N Campus Dr
Brookings, SD 57007

605-688-5093

Subjects: Agriculture, Geography & Geospatial Sciences, Physics

Open PRAIRIE

Open PRAIRIE is SDSU's institutional repository. It is a great place to find research articles, theses and dissertations, and datasets created and executed by SDSU faculty and students. If you are interested in adding your own work to Open PRARIE, contact Michael Biondo (michael.biondo@sdstate.edu).

Recommended Databases--Start Here!

Databases work as a one-stop-shop to find a variety of types of information. Different databases include articles from scholarly journals, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, images, technical reports, and much more. Explore the databases below for information related to Geography and Geospatial Science, and find more databases on the A-Z databases page.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection collects research articles from a wide variety of credible journals, across many different topics and disciplines. It also includes data, conference proceedings, and other documents. It is a great place to start with almost any research in geography or geospatial science.
Agricola - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
ScienceDirect Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly peer-reviewed scientific, medical, and technical literature. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Covers research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Full-text and indexed content from leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
SciTech Connect contains over sixty-five years of energy-related citations created and/or collected by OSTI. There are over 2.5 million citations, including citations to 1.4 million journal articles with full text linking to 364,000 articles. SciTech Connect also has over 313,000 full-text DOE sponsored STI reports. SciTech Connect contains over 29,800 records in the Geosciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Other Helpful Databases

Research in geography and geospatial science is often interdisciplinary, and requires creative searching beyond the usually recommended library databases. Depending on the direction of your research, one or more of these databases may contain useful information:

Western Waters Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides free public access to a wide range of resources on water in the Western United States. This is a collaborative project of academic institutions for the Greater Western Library Alliance.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps--South Dakota
Collection of historical maps of South Dakota communities created by Sanborn Map Company from 1867 to 1970.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a core research tool appropriate for researchers in the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), the database also links to other NCBI resources.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.

Helpful Journals: Geography

Looking for a specific journal? Use the FIND A JOURNAL option on the library's home page. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage. Explore some popular journals in geography and geospatial science below.

Geography and Geospatial Science: Find Articles

Geography and Geospatial Science Librarian

Open PRAIRIE

Recommended Databases--Start Here!

Other Helpful Databases

Helpful Journals: Geography

Helpful Journals: Geospatial Science

Association Websites