LibGuides: Chemistry / Biochemistry: Find Articles

Chemistry / Biochemistry Librarian

Annisija Hunter

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

(605) 688-5571

Subjects: Biology & Microbiology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Health & Medical Sciences

Interlibrary Loan

If you ever see an article that is asking you to pay for access, don't pay! Instead, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Through ILL, you can submit a request for an article and the ILL team will work to get you a free (emailed) version.

To get to ILL, go to the Briggs Library homepage and click on InterLibrary Loan in the blue box. You can also use the library chat to get more information.

Chemistry-Specific Databases

SciFinder - First Time Users This link opens in a new window
This database requires that each user have an individual account. For SDSU students, faculty, and staff, those accounts are free. This link will allow you to set up an account. Once the account is set up, use the SciFinder Scholar - Continuing Users link.
Interactive tutorials from CAS are available online in several languages, including English, Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Scifinder-n This link opens in a new window
FOR SCIFINDER CONTINUING USERS...From the American Chemical Society, use this database for chemistry, biochemistry, biology and other life sciences research. Features include drawing substances and reactions and searching from the drawings. Scifinder-n also includes PatentPak and MethodsNow. First-time users will need to create an account with the "first time users" link above.

Want to improve your Scifinder-n skills? Use these tutorials and webinars to learn more.

Current Chemical Reactions - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Contains single- and multi-step new synthetic methods taken from leading journals and patents from 36 issuing authorities. The overall reaction flow is provided for each method, along with a detailed and accurate graphical representation of each reaction step - 1985 to present.
Index Chemicus - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Contains the structures and critical supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals. It is a vital source of new information on biologically active compounds and natural products. Coverage from 1993 to present.

Databases for Biomedical/Medical Research

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Some citations link to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. A premier database for biomedical research, the database is a core research tool appropriate for researchers in the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), the database also links to other NCBI resources.
MEDLINE - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 60 languages. Covers biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, clinical care, public health, health policy development, and aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Coverage from 1950 to present.
JoVE Biology Video Journal This link opens in a new window
Publishes standard techniques and novel experimental approaches in the files of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology.

Databases for Chemistry Education Research

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Resources for educators. Emphasis on peer-reviewed journals.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Some citations link to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. A premier database for biomedical research, the database is a core research tool appropriate for researchers in the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), the database also links to other NCBI resources.

General Science Databases

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Covers research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Full-text and indexed content from leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.

Preprints and Unpublished Material

ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

SDSU Chemistry Theses and Dissertations
Read theses and dissertations written by SDSU Chemistry students.

Find Journals

Want to check to see if Briggs has access to a specific journal? Go to the Briggs library homepage and click on "Find a Journal." Then, type in the name of the journal to find out if we have access, what years we have access to, and if we have print or online versions available.