Biology 151 Honors

EndNote is a citation manager that you can use for free through SDSU. Citation managers make research easier because they keep all your citations and full-text articles in a single place. You can create folders to organize citations for different projects, read and annotate articles, and even collaborate on a group of citations with other students or faculty all within EndNote. EndNote even connects with Microsoft Word, so you can import in-text and full citations seamlessly as you write papers. It is worth the effort to learn how to use this resource.

1. Close all Microsoft Office programs.
2. Go to the Download EndNote21 page. Log in with your SDSU credentials when prompted.
3. Select the appropriate folder (Mac or Windows), select the files (one for Mac, two for Windows), and click Download.

Windows

• When downloaded, make sure both files are together. Then, click the "Extract all" button above the files to unzip them.
• Double click ONLY the EN21Inst file. (If you accidentally open the License.dat file, you will need to uninstall and start again).
• Follow all on-screen installation instructions.
• When downloaded, open EndNote. Create a new EndNote Library when prompted.

Mac

• Double-click the downloaded EndNote21-Mac-Installer file.
• Double-click the Program Icon.
• Follow all on-screen installation instructions.
• When downloaded, open EndNote. Go to the File menu and select New to create an EndNote Library.

You can search several databases within EndNote21. However, searching outside of EndNote is preferred because it expands the number of databases you can search, gives you greater control over your search, allows you to use database limiters, and avoids confusion about whether a citation is stored in your EndNote Library.

To download a citation:

• Go to the database you want to search in (PubMed, Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews)
• Find the article you want to put in your EndNote Library and click on it.
• Find the "Export" button and click it. (It is often above the article title somewhere, or on the right-hand side).
• Choose "EndNote", "EndNote desktop", or "RIS" formats. Any of these options will work.
• A file will download in the right-hand corner of your browser. When it appears, double-click it.
• EndNote should automatically open and download the citation. (Sometimes it takes a moment. If you keep clicking the download, it will put multiple copies in EndNote.)

You can also put a whole list of citations from a database into EndNote. If you need help figuring it out, contact your Subject Librarian. 

EndNote can automatically download many full text articles and hyperlinks when it is connected to the library. To enable this feature:

• Go to the Edit menu, select Preferences, and then Find Full Text.
• Click all 5 check marks.
• In the Open URL Path box, put: https://sdstate-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/citationlinker?vid=01SDBOR_SDB&lang=en_US
• Click Apply

*If you are off campus, you will need to fill in the second URL box with: https://excelsior.sdstate.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url= and then log in with your SDSU credentials