*Literature searching tip* Just because there isn't data in an abstract doesn't mean there is not good data in an article. If the article looks relevant and you are searching for data, don't stop at the abstract. Look at the full text to find what you're looking for.
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It includes all cited references captured from indexed articles in a variety of subjects including agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science, and zoology.
The PubMed database contains more than 37 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or Briggs Library. Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. Subjects include molecular biology, botany, zoology, ecology and the environment, microbiology, experimental and clinical medicine, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, genetics, agriculture, nutrition, biochemistry, pharmacology, and public health.
*Data searching tip* Because there are fewer datasets than research articles, start your search broadly with only one or two keywords. You can always narrow down your search with more keywords later.
How to use Statista: Search using keywords separated by AND or OR. Then, on the right side of the page, under "content types", choose "statistics". When you click a statistic, it will show you a chart or graph. Download the statistic (right-hand side) as an XLS (Excel spreadsheet) to view the raw data.
How to use Data.gov: Search using keywords separated by AND or OR. Filter on the left-hand side by format. XML, CSV, and EXCEL (XLS) files are all easily readable in Excel. Click on a data set you like and then click the download button.
How to use the Dataverse: Search using keywords separated by AND or OR. On the results page, on the left-hand side, limit to "datasets". Click on the data set you want. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the download arrow.
How to use the Dataset Catalog (beta): Search using keywords separated by AND or OR. Click on the dataset you are interested in. On the right-hand side, click the link beneath "go to dataset". Click the link to download.
If you've tried searching each of the databases above and nothing is working, read the next page about how to search and how to improve your search strategy. If you're still having trouble, don't stress! Email the librarian or stop by the library for some help! A librarians can help you improve your search strategy or find a more niche data source.
