LibGuides: Biology 151 Honors Research Guide: Home

Getting Started

This research guide is a resource for General Biology I - Honors. The guide provides links to the text of several articles for each for the nine research themes that groups are exploring, additional resources that can be used to find information, and information about EndNote.

Databases

Search the following databases to find articles and other sources on your topic:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary database covering virtually every subject area. Includes full-text peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
BIOSIS Previews - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all major areas in the life sciences, including biology, molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious disease, ecology and organismal biology. BIOSIS Previews has nearly 5,200 journals and over 21 million bibliographic records from journals, books, reports, meetings and U.S. patents dating from 1991 to present.
MEDLINE - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 60 languages. Covers biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, clinical care, public health, health policy development, and aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Coverage from 1950 to present.
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides journal citations and abstracts from 1992 to present. The database is a core resource for finding high-impact articles, identifying emerging trends in research, identifying potential research collaborators and integrate searching, writing, and reference list creation in one process, with literature from over 6650 leading scientific and technical journals addressing 150 disciplines. Coverage from 1969 to present.