Theatre: Websites

Play licensing and theatrical publishing agency with a searchable index of plays.

Find information on over 100,000 modern plays.

Database of all plays produced off-Broadway.

This list includes the results of an annual industry survey of excellent new plays by women, trans, and non-binary playwrights. It is a tool for producers committed to ending the systemic underrepresentation of women, trans, and non-binary playwrights in the American theater.

Playscripts, Inc. strives to curate a catalog of plays that meets the needs of theater makers, and exceeds the expectations of audiences. We are at the forefront of play publishing, providing a unique and extensive suite of services for playwrights and customers alike.

The site comprises the catalogs of R&H Theatricals, Samuel French, Tams-Witmark and The Andrew Lloyd Webber Collection, plus dozens of new signings each year.

A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.

Peer-reviewed and not-yet peer-reviewed scholarship on Shakespear along with information about and reviews of productions. Some editions of play scripts are also available.

This site has downloadable scripts from movies, TV, and radio.

includes materials of all kinds for use in education. Find full textbooks for k-12 to higher education or lesson plans on a particular topic. You can also find activities/labs, case studies, illustrations and much more. Most items are free to use and modify for your own use.

is one of several collection of textbooks that are free to be used and, often, modified. The textbooks in this collection are usually peer reviewed.

provides textbooks, assignments, worksheets, etc.

is a guide includes some articles on open educational resources as well as some sources for finding them.

provides instructions for modifying different kinds of open textbooks and other open materials.

Allows you to put some restrictions on the use of your materials or to remove all usual copyright restrictions. It is a sort of mix and match system.

An association promoting the work of playwrights, composers, lyricists and librettists writing for the living stage.

An advocate for the field of theatre and performance in higher education, ATHE serves as an intellectual and artistic center for producing new knowledge about theatre and performance-related disciplines, cultivating vital alliances with other scholarly and creative disciplines, linking with professional and community-based theatres, and promoting access and equity.

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary.

The American Theatre Critics Association, Inc. is the only national association of professional theatre critics. Our members work for newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and on-line services across the United States.

Actors' Equity Association is the labor union that represents more than 49,000 Actors and Stage Managers in the United States. Equity seeks to advance, promote and foster the art of live theatre as an essential component of our society.

The American Alliance for Theatre & Education connects and inspires a growing collective of theatre artists, educators, and scholars committed to transforming young people and communities through the theatre arts.

Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, celebrating achievement in the Off-Broadway and off-off Broadway theater.

Legitimate theatrical productions may be eligible for Tony Awards if they officially open on or before the cut-off date established by the Tony Awards Administration Committee (in 2014, that date was April 24) in an eligible Broadway theatre and comply with all the rules and regulations that govern the Tony Awards for the season. A show is only eligible in the season when it first opens, no matter how long it subsequently runs on Broadway.

Theatre websites determined to be good by the staff at the New York Public Library.

Playbill is the exclusive magazine for Broadway and Off-Broadway theatregoers, providing the information necessary for the understanding and enjoyment of each show, including features articles and columns by and about theatre personalities, entertainment, travel, fashion, dining and other editorial pieces geared to the lifestyle of the upscale, active theatre attendee. Playbill also proudly serves New York's three most prominent performing arts venues - the Metropolitan Opera House, Lincoln Center (Avery Fisher Hall, Alice Tully Hall, New York State Theater) and Carnegie Hall.

This website has many audio examples of accents of English from around the world. Information about where the reader is from and how long they have lived there is given. A standard passage is read and then the speaker gives information about him/herself.