LibGuides: English 283: Creative Writing: Archival Research

Guide Contents

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

605.688.5957

Subjects: Education, Humanities, Modern Languages, Social Sciences

SDSU Archives & Special Collections
South Dakota State University Archives and Hilton M. Briggs Library Special Collections contain the University Archives, as well as material related to South Dakota history and life. These two general collection areas include manuscript and archival materials, books, serials, audiovisual materials, artifacts and photographs.
South Dakota Agricultural Heritage Museum
Collections and exhibits depict technology, crops, and livestock. In addition the exhibits examine human experiences, institutions, and cultures that were shaped by the state's rural landscape and diverse environment.
South Dakota State Archives
The State Archives of the South Dakota State Historical Society collects, appraises, accessions, describes, organizes, preserves, determines significance, and makes available manuscript collections, South Dakota state, county, and town government records, photographs, maps, and other archival materials which have permanent historical and research value.
Digital Library of South Dakota
The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities, as well as partners in the state of South Dakota, to digitize and provide access to photos and primary documents relevant to the history of South Dakota.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
Provides guidance for students and researchers on the nature of primary sources, finding them on the web, evaluating the quality and reliability of source sites, and citing online information correctly. From the Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.

SDSU Archives & Special Collections
Contains the university archives, as well as material related to South Dakota history and life. Collections are accessible on the upper level of Hilton M. Briggs Library.