LibGuides: English 283: Creative Writing: Newspapers & Periodicals

Guide Contents

English Librarian

Linda Kott

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

605.688.5957

Subjects: Education, Humanities, Modern Languages, Social Sciences

Newspapers

Argus Leader via ProQuest U.S. North Central Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
Argus Leader via ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Includes page images) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the full-text of The Sioux Falls Argus Leader from 2010; The New York Times Late Edition (East Coast) from 2008; and The Wall Street Journal from 2008. This resource is not current so each paper may be several months behind.

Brookings Register
Began in 1890. Issues from 1892 to Feb. 2012 are available on microfilm on the Lower Level of the Library. Current issues are available in the Current Newspapers section on the Main Level of the Library.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Newspapers in North America presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Included in the collection are national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective, include the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation.
New York Times Online: Home This link opens in a new window

All students, faculty, and staff can now read unlimited articles from The New York Times directly on nytimes.com from anywhere in the world. Access includes all articles published on the website since 1996 as well as scanned issues going back to 1851.
Activate your Account
If you have never logged into the the New York Times, follow these steps to set up your access:

1. Go to accessnyt.com
2. Select South Dakota State University from the school search box
3. Follow the on-screen instructions to create an account using your SD State email address
4. Reactivate access after 365 days by following these same steps.

Note: If you already have a personal NY Times subscription connected to your SD State email and would like to activate this library-provided one, you will need to first contact NY Times customer service at 1-800-698-4637 to cancel your individual subscription.

Returning Users
Once you've made your account, follow these steps to get those unlimited articles:

1. Go to nytimes.com
2. Click on "Log In" in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen
3. Enter your SD State email address and chosen password
Newsstream (National newspapers) This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content from over 1000 news sources, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980's featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
185 newspapers from the north central region of the United States.

This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection From Florida/Georgia/Tennessee/Virginia/Alabama This link opens in a new window
A mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.

Periodicals

Nineteenth (19th) Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine - the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.