LibGuides: English 283: Creative Writing: Databases

Guide Contents

English Librarian

Linda Kott

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007

605.688.5957

Subjects: Education, Humanities, Modern Languages, Social Sciences

Arts & Humanities Databases

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
This collection provides historical and personal stories about early contact with European settlers and the political, social, and cultural effects of contact on American Indian life. Materials include treaties, speeches, diaries, artwork, rare printed books, newspaper articles, and photographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. Publication years: 1975 to present
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 670 full-text journals in communication and mass media. Over 1,000 core titles are indexed with over 600 of those being active periodicals. Coverage goes back to 1900. More than 240 full-text journals not available in Communication & Mass Media Complete.

Social Science Databases

SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple search interface for Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and Medline. Web of Science - All Databases does not include cited reference searching but that type of search can be done in the Web of Science - Core Collection.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Journals online collection includes over 170 titles. Some of the subjects covered include: Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities and Law. The benefit of utilizing the online version of the Oxford Journals is the ability to access finished manuscripts of journals before they are released in print.
Sage Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive bibliographic and full text database includes more than 645 journals. Topics covered include the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and science and technology.
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of over 1600 journals and reference works published by Taylor and Francis. Coverage varies by journal and full-text varies by subscription.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes access to over 1500 peer-reviewed journals, over 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases and is one of the world's most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources, covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
Combined search of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases. Include magazine and journal articles, biographies, primary source documents, company profiles, photos, and maps. Some content back to 1800s.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Broad, multidisciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).