These are the best databases we have for research in Communication Studies. There are more options, especially for cross-disciplinary research on the Secondary Databases tab. You can see all our databases in our Databases A to Z list.
All students, faculty, and staff can now read unlimited articles from The New York Times directly on nytimes.com from anywhere in the world. Access includes all articles published on the website since 1996 as well as scanned issues going back to 1851.
Activate your Account
If you have never logged into the the New York Times, follow these steps to set up your access:
1. Go to accessnyt.com
2. Select South Dakota State University from the school search box
3. Follow the on-screen instructions to create an account using your SD State email address
4. Reactivate access after 365 days by following these same steps.
Note: If you already have a personal NY Times subscription connected to your SD State email and would like to activate this library-provided one, you will need to first contact NY Times customer service at 1-800-698-4637 to cancel your individual subscription.
Returning Users
Once you've made your account, follow these steps to get those unlimited articles:
1. Go to nytimes.com
2. Click on "Log In" in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen
3. Enter your SD State email address and chosen password
Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!
Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).
