Alexander Street Press Video includes a variety of streaming videos including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels. These videos are not available from other streaming services. Currently videos cannot be played on mobile phones or tablets.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward - from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
IOP Science contains journals from the Institute of Physics, which is a scientific charity devoted to increasing the practice, understanding and application of physics. This resource provides access to over 120 journals in the area of physics, drawn from research worldwide.
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, coverage extends to chemistry, biochemistry, biology and other life sciences. Searching capabilities include drawing substances and reactions and searching from the drawings. Scifinder-n also includes PatentPak and MethodsNow. First-time users will need to create an account with the "first time users" link above. Accounts created for SciFinder will work with SciFinder-n.
Documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict.
Documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. This digital archive includes a variety of primary source documents - personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises, and children's books
Documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, and other related topics. This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents - personal narratives, political speeches, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works, and more - published from the time of the transatlantic slave trade to the post-Civil War period.