LibGuides: Nutrition &amp; Dietetics Guide: Articles

Databases for Nutrition & Dietetics Research

These are the best databases we have for research in nutrition and dietetics. There are more options,especially for cross-disciplinary research on the Secondary Databases tab. You can see all our databases in our Databases A to Z list.

MEDLINE - Web of Science
Indexes articles from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 60 languages. Covers biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering, clinical care, public health, health policy development, and aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Coverage from 1950 to present.
PubMed
Provides access to over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Some citations link to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. A premier database for biomedical research, the database is a core research tool appropriate for researchers in the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), the database also links to other NCBI resources.

Dietary Supplements (Subset of PubMed)
The Dietary Supplement subset is a joint project between the NIH National Library of Medicine (NLM®) and ODS. This subset was created using a search strategy including terms provided by ODS, and selected journals indexed for MEDLINE® that include significant dietary supplement-related content.

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
BIOSIS Previews - Web of Science
Provides access to all major areas in the life sciences, including biology, molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious disease, ecology and organismal biology. BIOSIS Previews has nearly 5,200 journals and over 21 million bibliographic records from journals, books, reports, meetings and U.S. patents dating from 1991 to present.
Agricola - Ebsco
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
Agricola - National Library of Agriculture
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports. This version of the database is free to anyone to search.
Web of Science - All Databases
Provides a simple search interface for Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and Medline. Web of Science - All Databases does not include cited reference searching but that type of search can be done in the Web of Science - Core Collection.
Alt HealthWatch
A mix of 200 magazines, journals, and pamphlets on complementary, holistic, and integrated health care. Not recommended for scholarly research.

This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Find full-text articles from 500+ journals. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information (formerly Lexi-PALS Drug Guide) with over 1,00 printable patient education sheets. Updated monthly.

Use of these electronic resources is for educational purposes only. By opening the link to these resources, you agree to this use.

For alternate access to this resource from within South Dakota click here. This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance
Focuses on graduate dissertations and theses relating to physical activity. Areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. Includes approximately 11,000 dissertations and theses with between 100 and 150 added each year. Resources date back to 1948. Full-text access for many titles.

These databases are divided into general databases and related subject databases.

General databases are good for doing fairly basic cross-disciplinary research.
Subject databases are good for finding in-depth research on your topic from fields other than your own.

General Databses

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ScienceDirect Publications
Provides full-text access to scholarly peer-reviewed scientific, medical, and technical literature. Includes over 15 million articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and over 37,000 books, with coverage from 1823 to present. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day, and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. This database was previously known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Dissertations & Theses at South Dakota State University (ProQuest)
Dissertations and theses produced by South Dakota State University students. Not all dissertations and theses are available full-text in this database. Indexing from 1958-2011.
SDSU Publications Search - OpenPRAIRIE
Searchable list of publications by SDSU facutly, staff, and students. Documents are entered by faculty or staff at their discretion so it is not a complete index of publications. Publication types include books, journal articles, pamphlets, conference presentations, and other material.

Subject Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
ERIC Web (Education Resources Information Center)
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Sports Medicine & Education Index
A bibliographic database covering since 1970 a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. Over 349,875 records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications with 1000 added monthly.
PsycINFO
Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.
SocIndex
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Produced by NISC, this is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year.
Zoological Record - Web of Science
The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues. Determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species and track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes. Search with the help of extensive thesauri, including subject, geographical, paleontological and taxonomic classifier. Coverage 1864 to present.

Diet and Clinical Nutrition Journals

Think about where you are searching for articles. Use library databases first, Google Scholar after library databases and end with a basic Google search. Here is an explanation of why.
Think about what type of information you need. Papers and speeches need more academic, research based information and a general interest. For instance, if you see a movie and are curious about a phenomenon or a person, looking it/them up in Wikipedia or on Google might be fine but when writing a paper about the phenomenon or person, you will want reliable, scholarly, in-depth information that you can verify. Here is more information on quality of information.
There are many strategies you can use to narrow, broaden, or refine your search. Check out the Research 101: Search Strategies pages for more information.
- Generating keywords
- Boolean operators (searching with AND, OR, and NOT)
- Subject terms
- Citation searching
- Mining reference lists

Librarian

Kristin Echtenkamp

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

Phone: 605-688-5958

Subjects: Aviation, Communication & Journalism, Education, English, Humanities, Social Sciences

Quick Links

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Keep in mind that the process may take from a week to ten days. Start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).

Journals List - Find a Journal

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, see our ILL FAQ.

FAQ: Interlibrary Loan