LibGuides: Respiratory Care: Find Articles

Respiratory Care Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Briggs Library 123

(605) 688-5571

Subjects: Health & Medical Sciences

PubMed
PubMed contains over 35 million citations across all facets of health science research. It includes many different types of sources, including research articles, case reports, book chapters, and more. It is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Here you can search for health-related information across thousands of journals. It also includes other types of sources and advanced searching tools.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare-decision making. They are known for their Cochrane Reviews, considered the "gold standard" for systematic reviews in health research.

Depending on the direction of your research, these databases may also be useful:

SocIndex
SocINDEX collects research related to the study of sociology (the study of human society, it's social problems, and societal structures). This database allows for advanced searching across different source types.
PsycINFO
Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) via EbscoHost
The largest education database in the world, containing over 1.6 million records. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, reports, policy papers, and other education related-materials. Coverage from 1966 to the present. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences (IES).

DynaMed
DynaMed is the decision support tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians and specialist who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis and guidance with transparent detail to assist in the clinical decision-making process.

These are a few of the top journals in Respiratory Care, which publish research articles.

Search with keywords. It is easier to find information in databases using keywords. Break down your research question into its main points: chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, hospital readmission, patient education
Refine your search using filters. Most databases will allow you to filter your results by date (getting only more recent information) and source type (getting only case reports, etc.), as well as other categories. Look for filters on the left hand side of the search page.
Ask a librarian! Librarians can help you if you're getting stuck. Use the library chat in the bottom right hand corner of the page to get immediate help!