LibGuides: Physics: Find Articles & Journals

Physics Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

SBL 123
Briggs Library, Box 2115
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007-1098

605-688-5107

Physics Research Databases

Databases are where you will find articles from many different journals, as well as conference proceedings, newspaper articles, standards, and much more. Search the databases below to begin your research.

ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM Digital Library includes access to all ASTM standards, nine journals, selected technical reports, proceedings, and bulletins. Users are required to create a free account and log in to view full text. Additional information on accessing standards is available here.
IOP Science This link opens in a new window
IOP Science contains journals from the Institute of Physics, which is a scientific charity devoted to increasing the practice, understanding and application of physics. This resource provides access to over 120 journals in the area of physics, drawn from research worldwide.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
Formerly SciTech Connect, this resource is the primary search tool for the Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Contains nearly 3 million citations, with citations for 1.5 million journal articles and 445,000 full-text DOE-funded reports. Also provides information about the history and organization of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Resources date back to 1948.
ScienceDirect Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly peer-reviewed scientific, medical, and technical literature. Includes over 15 million articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and over 37,000 books, with coverage from 1823 to present. Subjects include physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering over 2500 journals and 53,000 books published by Springer. Browse by topic or publication type as well as searching by subject.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple search interface for Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and Medline. Web of Science - All Databases does not include cited reference searching but that type of search can be done in the Web of Science - Core Collection.

Physics Journals

Explore specific journals to find out what a group of physicists and other researchers are studying on a particular topic or sub-field of physics. Below are some journals related to physics research. To search for a journal click on "Find A Journal" on the library homepage.

Open PRAIRIE

Open PRAIRIE is South Dakota State University's institutional repository. It supports the collection, preservation, and dissemination of SDSU’s scholarly and creative output from faculty, staff, and students. Open PRAIRIE also allows for permanent storage of, and public access to, institutional materials. Click the link below for information on physics materials housed in Open PRAIRIE.

Open PRAIRIE--Physics