History Research Guide: History 480: Capstone

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad.

This resource includes the full-text of The Sioux Falls Argus Leader from 2010; The Des Moines Register from 2009. This product is not searchable by topic but the full newspapers can be accessed by date. The images are scanned into PDFs. This resource averages four days behind the current date.

US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

A mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.

Historical newspaper indexes from the following: Deadwood / Black Hills (1877-1900), Indian Country Today (1991-2003), Rapid City Journal (1999-2005), SDSU Collegian Index (1970-2000), and Sioux Falls Argus-Leader (1979-2003). Search for the newspaper index in OpenPRAIRIE.

This free internet site offers access to thousands of news sources from around the world.

Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Full-text access from 1980 to the present.

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content from over 1000 news sources, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980's featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.