These are the best databases we have for research in Health and Nutritional Sciences. There are more options, especially for cross-disciplinary research on the Secondary Databases tab. You can see all of our databases on the Databases A-Z list.
In addition to the databases listed above, the following databases can be useful in finding articles and other resources related to health, physical education, and recreation.
You can browse our journals by topic.
Or, search for a specific journal title
From the PubMed database, scroll down below the search area. Under "Explore" click on MeSH Database.
Type your term into the search box.
Click on any term from the search results.
You will get a definition of the term along with the history of it.
You also get a list of subheadings associated with the term you chose. You can use these to build a search.
Below these, you can see the MeSH categories your term is in from the broadest term to narrowest:
Search alerts allow you to save searches and have them run automatically with the results being sent to you periodically. Check who provides the database you use most often and follow the instructions below.
Ebsco database search alert instructions.
ProQuest database search alert instructions.
Web of Science (Clarivate) database search alert instructions.
If your database is not from Ebsco, ProQuest, or Web of Science, contact your subject librarian for help.
Are you confused about the difference between journals and magazines? No problem, here is what to look for to determine which you have.
Journals: Content is written to inform the reader.
Magazines: Content is written to entertain the reader.
Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
Keep in mind that the process may take from a week to ten days. Start your research early!
Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).
For more information on Interlibrary Loan, see our ILL FAQ.
Go to the PubMed database.
Click the Log in box in the top right corner of the screen.
Click on "New here? Sign up".
Click on Create new NCBI Account.
Fill out the form and click "Sign up".
This will save a search that the system will automatically run periodically and send results to your e-mail.
Develop your search including any filters.
Click the "Create alert" under the search bar.
Name the search and choose the other options offered.
Click "Save".
This will create a list that will automatically update that can be added to a website or blog.
Develop your search including any filters.
Click the "Create RSS" under the search bar.
Name the RSS feed and choose the number of items to show.
Click "Create RSS".
Copy the link for the RSS and add it to your site.
Contact: Office Hours:
Briggs Library 019 Please make an appointment using the "Meet" button above.
605-688-5569
