LibGuides: Honors Colloquium -The Land (HON 383): Databases

Databases

The following databases are some of the resources you can use to find journal articles and other materials. If you don't find the information you need, consult the Historical Research Guide, the Government Information Research Guide, and contact us for help!

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Agricola - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Over 4.8 million citations covering all aspects of agriculture from the National Library of Agriculture. Coverage goes back to 1970 and includes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, and technical reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced" for more options.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Content focuses on the living resources found in bodies of water, offering comprehensive international coverage for researchers specializing in ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture, and aquatic and marine biology. Contains approximately 1.5 million records aggregated from 19 bibliographic databases from around the world. Coverage from the 1970's to the present.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC, this is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 1.6 million bibliographic records. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year.
World Cat This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 179 million records for all types of materials, e.g., books, music, videos, software, web pages, etc., cataloged by libraries in the United States and many other countries. Both interfaces provide complete bibliographic information for each item and enable the user to identify libraries that own each item. The Basic link leads to Worldcat.org, which is a free version with a simplified search interface.

Journals

Use the Journals List to determine the library's access to specific publications. Enter the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal to find out whether the library has access in print or online and the dates of our coverage.

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep in mind that the process may take several days for articles and ebooks and longer for print books. We encourage you to start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).