LibGuides: Fashion Studies & Retail Merchandising: Books

Sources for E-books

eBooks from Ebsco
Search e-books by bibliographic information or through the full-text search limiter. These e-books are PDF or ePUB format and can be read on a computer or downloaded to other devices.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central has credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. It delivers a limited selection of 2000+ titles from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
JSTOR
Includes more than 1,700 leading academic journals and 45,000 Ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as other materials valuable for academic work.

Subject Headings

Character merchandising
Clothing and dress
Dandyism
Dressmaking
Exoticism in fashion
Fashion
Fashion merchandising
Merchandising
Marketing
Retail trade
Stereotypes (Social psychology) in fashion
Tailoring

Videos

Kanopy
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.
Alexander Street Press Videos
Briggs library provides access to the following video collections through Alexander Street Press Video:
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Nursing Education in Video : Second Edition
- PBS
PBS Video Collection

This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, business & economics, and more.

Government Documents

Government publications include brochures from all national parks and monuments. These can usually be found online or in paper by using the Catalog of Government Publication.

DiscoverGov
DiscoverGov is updating the resource that used to be known as the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP).
GovInfo.gov

Agencies with related documents and important individual documents:

Government Institutions with Fashion Resources

Smithsonian Museums: The Smithsonian has a number of fashion and retail merchandising collections and articles.

Library of Congress: There are many print, image, sound, and other resources from the Library of Congress.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Find out more about careers in fashion or retail merchandising from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

National Archives: Find archival materials at teh National Archives.

Fashion