LibGuides: Fashion Studies & Retail Merchandising: Articles

Databases

Databases for finding articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides information from business, marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier has more than 2,300 journals 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, and includes magazines, newspapers and periodicals. Also included are company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. The database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
This database is provided by the South Dakota State Library and the Institute of Museum Library Services.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR now includes ARTstor. This combined database includes thousands of journals that are full text from volume 1 to the end of their run or 3-7 years from the present (called an embargo). In addition, the database includes high quality images of thousands of works of art. The images are licensed to be used for educational purposes.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus is particularly good at looking at legal issues for fashion or merchandizing companies. It covers copyright and other legal issues including federal and state courts.

Databases for finding articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Economic Association and covers a wide range of economics-related literature. Indexes of journals, books and dissertations from 1969.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Focused on literature in psychology and related disciplines. Respected resource from the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, book reviews, and editorials. Indexes more than 4 million records and offers extensive coverage from the 1800’s to the present. Allows users to identify document types, research methodologies, tests or assessment instruments, and grant or funding sources.

Data Sources

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
ESRI Zip Lookup
Understand customers' lifestyle choices, what they buy, and how they spend their free time. Tapestry gives you insights to help you identify your best customers, optimal sites, and underserved markets. As a result, you will get higher response rates, avoid less profitable areas, and invest your resources more wisely.
Social Explorer
Gain deep insights into any area of interest - down to a city block, with stunning visualizations and built-in data. Reinforce your decisions with reliable and accurate location data.
National Retail Federation: Retail Resources and Tools
This organization provides resources for professionals in retail merchandising.
Consumer Barometer (from Google)
A tool to help you understand how people use the Internet across the world. Users can build graphs, compare data over time, view audience stories, and see research highlights.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable data sets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
USA.gov Data & Statistics
FedStats

Arts and Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals. Publication years: 1975 to present
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides journal citations and abstracts from 1992 to present. The database is a core resource for finding high-impact articles, identifying emerging trends in research, identifying potential research collaborators and integrate searching, writing, and reference list creation in one process, with literature from over 6650 leading scientific and technical journals addressing 150 disciplines. Coverage from 1969 to present.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. This product also contains extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 30,000 films and includes titles from BBC, Criterion Collection, and Media Education Foundation. Kanopy features include browsing by subject or using a search box, setting up clip/play lists, and sharing or embedding videos.

Search for journals by title.

Recommended Journals

Women's Wear Daily (WWD)
Available from EBSCO Business Source Premier
Wall Street Journal
Available through ProQuest Digital Microfilm (from 2008, most recent 3 months not available); ProQuest Newsstand National Newspapers (from 1984)
New York Times
Available from ProQuest Digital Microfilm (from 2008, most recent 3 months not available); ProQuest newsstand national Newspapers (from 1980)

International Migration: U.S. Census Bureau
Find information related to U.S. immigration (migration to a country), emigration (migration from a country), and the combination of the two (net international migration).
CenStats
Atlas of Rural and Small Town America
Department of Homeland Security Data & Statistics
Immigration Statistics
Economic Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes Occupational Outlook
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Economics & Statistics Administration
Economic indicators, reports and briefings
TradeStats Express
U.S. International Trade Commission
Interactive Tariff & Trade Data
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Find data and statistics on a wide variety of transportation and travel related issues, addressing all modes and types of transportation in the United States.
Business & Industry Economic Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau data by geography and data by survey, includes County Business Patterns and Survey of Manufacturers.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
U.S. Census Bureau
Access an abundance of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Think about where you are searching for articles. Use library databases first, Google Scholar after library databases and end with a basic Google search. Here is an explanation of why.
Think about what type of information you need. Papers and speeches need more academic, research based information and a general interest. For instance, if you see a movie and are curious about a phenomenon or a person, looking it/them up in Wikipedia or on Google might be fine but when writing a paper about the phenomenon or person, you will want reliable, scholarly, in-depth information that you can verify. Here is more information on quality of information.
There are many strategies you can use to narrow, broaden, or refine your search. Check out the Research 101: Search Strategies pages for more information (click the down arrow on the right of the Search Strategies tab to see more information) such as:
- Generating keywords
- Boolean operators (searching with AND, OR, and NOT)
- Subject terms
- Citation searching
- Mining reference lists

Search Alerts

Search alerts allow you to save searches and have them run automatically with the results being sent to you periodically. Check who provides the database you use most often and follow the instructions below.

Ebsco database search alert instructions.

ProQuest database search alert instructions.

Web of Science (Clarivate) database search alert instructions.

If your database is not from Ebsco, ProQuest, or Web of Science, contact your subject librarian for help.

Quick Links

Terminology: Journal/Magazine

Are you confused about the difference between journals and magazines? No problem, here is what to look for to determine which you have.

Journals: Content is written to inform the reader.

Author(s) named and credentials given
Sources cited in the article
Bibliography at the end (often it is long)
Articles report on research or review the current state of a topic
Articles tend to be long
Illustrations are usually graphs and charts and are necessary to understand the text
Few if any advertisements in the journal

Magazines: Content is written to entertain the reader.

Author is often not named
If sources are given, they are not cited entirely
No bibliography
Articles report on events and people, if research is reported, it is not in detail
Articles are short
Illustrations are often in color and are intended to entertain
Lots of advertisements for a wide variety of products

Interlibrary Loan

Although Briggs Library has an extensive collection, you may need items that are not available at the Library. No worries! You can request those articles, books, and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Keep in mind that the process may take from a week to ten days. Start your research early!

Many of our databases have an Interlibrary Loan Request button for articles not available in that particular database. Before submitting the loan request, be sure to check our Journals List for the title of the source or periodical (i.e. New York Times).

Journals List - Find a Journal

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, see our ILL FAQ.

FAQ: Interlibrary Loan