LibGuides: Elizabeth's Reusable Content: Government

Briggs Library Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each issue focuses on one controversial topic and includes an overview, background, chronology, and pro-con debates. Full-text back to 1923.

CQ Weekly
Explores the day-to-day actions of the U.S. Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis. Full text is available from 1983 until 2014. Includes historic reports on congressional issues of the day, including the status of bills that were being considered, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and results of any roll-call votes.
MarciveWeb DOCS
Provides citations to United States government publications from 1976 to present. URL’s provided for resources available online. Updated weekly.

World Cat This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 179 million records for all types of materials, e.g., books, music, videos, software, web pages, etc., cataloged by libraries in the United States and many other countries. Both interfaces provide complete bibliographic information for each item and enable the user to identify libraries that own each item. The Basic link leads to Worldcat.org, which is a free version with a simplified search interface.

SDLN Library Catalog

Government Institutions with Fashion Resources

Smithsonian Museums

The Smithsonian has a number of fashion and retail merchandising collections and articles.

Library of Congress

There are many print, image, sound, and other resources from the Library of Congress.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Find out more about careers in fashion or retail merchandising from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

National Archives

Find archival materials at the National Archives

Fashion

Laws

U.S. Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.

This site contains virtual main editions of the U.S. Code. The information contained in the U.S. Code has been provided to GPO by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. While every effort has been made to ensure that the U.S. Code on this site is accurate, those using it for legal research should verify their results against the printed version of the U.S. Code available through the Government Publishing Office.
South Dakota Codified Laws
South Dakota Codified Laws are the official set of laws governing the state of South Dakota. This site is updated after each legislative session to include changes made during the year's session.

Hilton M. Briggs Library: Government Information

The Federal Depository Library Program: Keeping America Informed

Since 1813, the United States Federal Government has distributed information to the American people through a system of depository libraries. SDSU and the library have been a part of the Federal Depository Library Program since 1889.There are currently over 556,000 federally deposited documents in the Government Documents Collection at Briggs Library. Materials and reference services are available free of charge to all users of government information in accordance with Title 44 of the U.S. Code. The general public may access government information in all formats in the library including print, microform, tangible electronic, and via the Internet.

Access Government Materials

Documents in print, microform, and electronic format are available on the Lower Level of Briggs Library. Most government documents may be checked out at the Library Services Desk. Library computers and equipment are freely available for using electronic government information sources. Assistance identifying and locating government publications is available in the Government Documents Office. Publications not available in the library or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Career Information

Federal Government Databases

Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
United States House of Representatives Find schedules, proceedings, votes, bills, and reports for the U.S. House of Representatives. Watch live streaming video of House proceedings.
United States Senate Find schedules, proceedings, hearings, votes, etc. about the U.S. Senate.
United States Supreme Court Find U.S. Supreme Court rulings, filings, rules, oral arguments, and case documents.
The White House Find information about the economy, national security, the budget, immigration and other national concerns.
Congress.gov The official site for information on U.S. federal legislative information. Includes a record for every bill introduced into Congress from the 93rd Congress (1973), the full text for bills from the 101st Congress (1989), the full text for laws from 104th Congress (1995) and Amendment records from 97th Congress (1981) with full-text for amendments from 104th Congress (1995).
Chrome Extension for Congress.gov For Google Chrome users, you can download this Chrome extension that allows you to highlight text in an article or web page and automatically search congress.com for it in a new web browser.
Patent Public Search Tool Search for and access prior art for patents
GovInfo.gov Provides free access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government.

State Links

State of South Dakota
Information portal for the State of South Dakota
South Dakota State Agencies
Executive, Legislative and Judicial information resources for South Dakota
State Agency Publications
Digital Services from the South Dakota State Library include archived state agency websites, online state government publications, and document submission information.
South Dakota Legislative Research Council
Official site for South Dakota Legislative research including session bills, Codified Law, Administrative Rules, the state Constitution and the Legislature
SD Unified Judicial System
Information resource for the SD Judiciary including the SD Supreme Court, SD Circuit Courts and Magistrate Courts