Chat now!

Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Consumer Sciences Research Guide: CA150

Welcome

Decorative Image  Let me help you with your research!

What Databases to Use for What

For general recent information on consumer sciences topics search:
For recent business information, search:
For historic home economics information, search:
For Briggs Library's books and articles from many databases

   Use the Quick Search on the library's homepage or use the box below.

Search for books, articles, & media

Assessment

Please use this QR code or link to fill out an online assessment of the instruction. The results will be anonymous.

QR code to https://acrl.projectoutcome.org/responses/40634

How to Search Academic Search and Business Search

Use the top box to put your search in. You may use multiple boxes like the example below.

Search box from Academic Search Premier with a sample search

Note that the first box has a phrase in it and there are quotation marks so the database searches the phrase rather than individual words.

Also note that the second box has a different concept and there is an asterisk (*) at the end so it will search generation, generations, generational, etc. The asterisk after the root of the word will search all forms of that word.

How to Search HEARTH

Remember that most of the content of HEARTH is older so you are looking for historic information in this database.

Browse the content

You can browse the content and see if there are books or journals that are likely to have content you are interested in.

Browse the HEARTH database

 

You can also search the full text of the books and articles in the database by typing your search in the Find box.

Search the HEARTH database

Note that both the quotation marks and asterisk (*) work in searching HEARTH just as they do in Academic Search and Business Source Premier.

Bottom Profile

Elizabeth Fox  

  Schedule an appointment to meet with Elizabeth

  Chat with Elizabeth

  Meet with Elizabeth via Zoom

 Contact:                       Office Hours:
 
Briggs Library 019       Monday - Friday1:30-2:30
  605-688-5569             

https://libguides.sdstate.edu/elizabeth-fox

LibGuides Footer; South Dakota State University; Brookings, SD 57007; 1-800-952-3541